What's new

Yet another Newbie needing advice. :-) (1 Viewer)

PeteKG

Auditioning
Hi.

I’m a newbie. I’m replacing my ten-year old prologic surround sound equipment with a 7.1 rig over the course of the next year. I’d like some advice on what to buy and in what order, given my constraints, listed below.

Constaints:
/1/ I live in Ontario, Canada. (Not sure that it’s a constraint, but just in case. :)
/2/ room size: 21 x 17.5 feet, cathedral ceiling from 9 to 22 feet, lots of windows.
/3/ because of the room constraint, the TV and equipment are in a corner and likely won’t go ever against a wall.
/4/ Budget for everything: $CAN 1000-1,500 ($US 875-1,300).
/5/ Wife says no big floor-standing speakers. (this means I’ve gotta ditch my nice Infinity SM112’s. Waaah.)

It's been suggested that I do my upgrades in the following order:

/1/ new mains and a sub.
/2/ new 7.1 receiver.
/3/ new center.
/4/ new surrounds.

What do you think of this order? Is there anything I’m missing, in terms of an upgrade path?

How do I ensure timber-matching, given that I’m buying speakers separately?

What portion of my budget should I allocate to speakers? 60-70%?

I’ve been reading a lot of positive reviews about the B&W DM602 s3’s, but can’t find any accurate pricing info on them. I suspect they’re out of my range, but can anyone give me a rough idea of what they cost? What about SVS? They also seem to get a lot of great press around the forum.

Anyway, I hope I’ve given you enough info to be able to offer some advice.

Thanks in advance.

Pete

SethH

Senior HTF Member
I agree with that order of upgrading.

Those B&W's have an MSRP of $300/speaker (USD). You might consider Paradigm as they are a Canadian company and are often compared to B&W. To ensure timbre matching you've got to buy speakers in the same line from the same company. So you'd probably want the LCR600 with the 602's.