YAMAHA RX-V2500 APPEARED 2 YRS AGO- STILL A GOOD CHOICE?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Phil McG, Sep 24, 2006.

1. Phil McG

Phil McG Auditioning

Hello everyone, I'm Phil and I just joined up here a few days ago. I've been lurking around reading many pages of posts for a little while now, but this is my first post. I'm an Electronic Media grad student in PA, and so I consider myself a burgeoning audiophile, but I still have a lot to learn. I've really gotten a lot out of your comments during my current search for a new AV receiver, and I'm hoping you folks can help me finalize my decision.

I was originally going to limit myself to under $500 for my receiver, but I'm now looking in the $500-$750 range. I've stumbled on a good deal for a Yamaha RX-V2500 at $629 new, and it seems to be the perfect unit for what I'm looking for, but I'm wondering if the fact that it's been on the market for almost 2 years should affect my decision. Are there other, newer receivers under $800 that are better equipped than the 2500, or is it still a good choice? The review at audioholics.com (also 2 yrs old) has nearly convinced me that this is the one I should go with, but I'm curious as to any opinions you all can offer me.

There is also an Integra DTR6.5 available at the same location for $690, should I consider it? Originally I was stuck on the HDMI question (to have or not to have?), but after visiting BB, CC, and Tweeter (among others), all of the guys I spoke with agreed that HDMI is not necessary in my receiver:
    I don't have an HDTV yet, but will be purchasing one withing 6 mo. (when I do it will most certainly have at least 2 HDMI inputs, so I can simply connect my cable box and my future PS3 directly to it, and run just the audio through the receiver)

As for my speakers, I have an old HK quad setup, but will be upgrading those to go along with my new receiver; My living room is approx. 12' X 18'.