Yamaha RX-V1400 DPL IIx: not working for 5.1 Audio?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by RickardL, Nov 11, 2003.

  1. RickardL

    RickardL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't know, I must be missing something but I can't get
    DPL IIx to kick in for 5.1 Audio Sources.

    With 2.0 audio source, I can toggle through:
    - Prologic Surround Standard
    - Prologic Surround Enhanced
    - Prologic IIx Movie
    - Prologic IIx Music
    - Prologic IIx Game
    - DTS Neo: 6 Cinema
    - DTS Neo: 6 Music

    With 5.1 audio source, I can toggle through:
    - Dolby Digital Surround Standard
    - Dolby Digital Surround Enhanced

    The toggeling is done with the same Dolby/DTS-button on
    the remote. The audio is from the same DVD, Aliens, with one 2.0 track and one 5.1 track. Optical is only transport.

    Am I just lost in the Dolby-jungle or have Yamaha missed
    something in their firmware upgrade??

    I thought the whole idea with IIx was "processes native
    stereo and 5.1-channel content to produce 6.1 or 7.1 output channels."

    Note: SB speakers connected and configured with YPAO.
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, maybe the new Prologic II, the prologic II I have is for making 2 channel Music and Prologic I, be more on par with 5.1 digital.
     
  3. RickardL

    RickardL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is amazing...or rather not.

    With my DTS Saving Private Ryan, I get a better surround
    sound with 2 surrounds and 2 stereo back channels from the
    2.0 dolby surround track with DPL IIx than from the 5.1 DTS track!
    I should be able to activate the DPL IIx functionality
    for 5.1 DD and DTS as well, shouldn't I?

    Maybe I should add that the Manual does not mention
    DPL IIx at all, it was written before Yamaha decided
    to include DPL IIx.
     
  4. Richard_B

    Richard_B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. RickardL

    RickardL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    4
    Richard_B,

    I bought the receiver in Sweden last week, got it on Monday this week.
    The Canadian Yamaha site, as well as the Swedish one, mentions
    DPLIIx for the RX-V1400/V2400 but nothing in the Swedish
    or Canadian manual about it, just vanilla DPLII.
     
  6. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a V2400 with out the PLIIx and have asked about this before and never got an answer, everyone has been hyping this up and not really seeming to know what it does.

    My understanding was the the IIx with make the 2 channel dolby surround into 7.1 the same way that ProLogic made it into 5.1 so to speak.

    Now as for making you 5.1 digital into 7.1 you can do that buy hitting the EX button on your remote and changing it from Auto to On, this will out out sound to the 6th and 7th channel even though it doesn't have EX coding. I have used it and it works better on some movies then others.
     
  7. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
     
  8. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey it looks like I may be right actually, make sure you mark that done. That it only works on 2 channel sources is kinda what I though, and if that is the case I wont waste the time and trouble sending in my V2400 to get upgraded.
     
  9. RickardL

    RickardL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    4
    Wayne,

    I think you are wrong, I think DPLIIx could be applied
    to any 5.1 audio source, even DTS.
    Check out these things from the DPLIIx FAQ at dolby.com:

    12. Q: Will audio signals encoded in Dolby Digital EX provide better performance than standard 5.1 encoding software when they are decoded into 7.1 channels by Dolby Pro Logic IIx? In other words, will it sound better?
    A: Probably, but not necessarily. The accuracy and precision of the Dolby Pro Logic IIx decoding process results in a highly natural and involving surround sound experience from stereo and 5.1 content, as well as from content encoded in Dolby Digital EX. The end result is heavily dependent on the nature of the original soundtrack mix.

    13. Q: Will Dolby Pro Logic IIx process DTS 5.1 content, and is it compatible with DTS-ES discrete and matrix-encoded software?
    A: Processing of DTS content is an available option. While Dolby Pro Logic IIx technology is fully compatible with DTS and DTS-ES, whether a product supports them is, of course, dependent upon DSP capability and hardware design.

    Also, a 2.0 Dolby Digital track is also "digital"
    as well as a 5.1 Dolby Digital track... :)
     
  10. RickardL

    RickardL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    4
    BrentG, I think you might send it in...

    Problem solved: a very helpful person from Dolby Laboratories
    apparently knew how the Yamaha worked and supplied this:

    The solution may lie in some buttons at the bottom of the remote underneath a sliding panel. They are labeled"+" and "-".

    Pressing the EX/ES button should toggle through: OFF > Auto: > [PLIIx Movie || PLIIx Music || ES/EX || EX]

    While the unit is in one of the [PLIIx Movie || PLIIx Music || ES/EX || EX] states, pressing the "+" or "-" buttons should switch between PLII/EX modes.

    Comment:
    It wasn't a "+" / "-" button under a sliding panel, it was the "channel +/-" or right/left arrows that did it!!! Yeah!
    I can now toggle between PLIIx Movie/PLIIx Music for DD 5.1 and
    DTS 5.1 sources to produce 7.1 sound!!

    I only wished Yamaha had included an addendum to the manual with
    this information, I never thought of pushing any +/- in combination
    with the "ES/EX" button!
    Edit: now having discovered how it works, I see that
    there is actually a "" marker appearing when pressing
    the "ES/EX" button indicating that you can push forward
    or backward button to toggle things in the other "direction"...
     
  11. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may have to play with the idea some as well. I didn't know that.

    Interesting about your saving Private Ryan example.

    My Titanic Laserdisc of all things, come'n across the optical connection, provides the most vivid multi-channel DTS. I have no other laserdiscs that can do anything remotely close to what I am getting off of the Titanic disc. By all accounts, Laserdisc players are not suppsed to be able to get any multi-channel digital off anything but a specialy modified player that will pull the digital multi-channel off of one of the analog channels before modulation. Just an FYI more than anything.
     
  12. Marty Neudel

    Marty Neudel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    >By all accounts, Laserdisc players are not supposed to be able to get any multi-channel digital off anything but a specially modified player that will pull the digital multi-channel off of one of the analog channels before modulation. <

    John,

    that is true for Dolby Digital. However, DTS on laserdisk is recorded in the track-space normally used by PCM, so the optical and coax PCM outputs carry the DTS signal to your decoder.

    Marty
     

Share This Page