Yamaha RX-V1300 video switching audio problem

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by John-Miles, Mar 5, 2005.

  1. John-Miles

    John-Miles Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Ok I use my receiver to switch component video, how do i change the audio without turning off the input, i want to tun my tv in split screen with one component input then on the other side have my vcr with the sound. but whenever i switch to the vcr sound i lose the picture form my component source.
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Please try again – it’s not clear what you’re trying to accomplish.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. John-Miles

    John-Miles Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Ok sorry here goes explaination number 2.

    I use my receiver for component video switching. When I turn it to my Playstation's Input (in this case DVD on the receiver) I get picture on my screen and sound through my speakers. I then use the split screen mode on my TV so that I can watch tv and play video games. to do this however I want the sound from the other source, when when i switch to the other inputs I lose picture fromt he component switching. What I want is to listen to one source and get video from another through my receiver.
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    If your Yamaha is like mine, when you switch from a video source to an audio source, you will still get the picture from the video source. If you switch from one video source to another, naturally the picture will change with it.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  5. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see how this is possible to do if both sources are running through the AVR. Most people that use split screen, will wire all video directly to the display, only audio to the AVR. Otherwise the screen will switch with the audio and/or visa versa.
     
  6. John-Miles

    John-Miles Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Ok Wayne I switched the audio from my tv output to the cd input so now i can change sound fields and still maintain the picture, but for some reason the tv isn't sending the output from the PiP sound, so I think I know how to fix the problem I just need more cables :S
     

Share This Page