Yamaha RX-V1 Owners, HELP!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff_Johnson, Dec 19, 2001.

  1. Jeff_Johnson

    Jeff_Johnson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After having an unbelievably long run of good luck with my A/V equipment, I now seem to be paying big-time. I upgraded to a Yahama RX-V1 three months ago and the left surround channel started to go out intermittently. Because the Yahama was part of a large purchase, the manager gave me a replacement instead of having to get it repaired. My new RX-V1 is two weeks old and the left main channel just went out. But wait, it gets better. While running the test pattern, the right channel went out. I am not believing this! All the cables, connections, connectors, everything that carries a signal was hooked up to my Yahama RX-V2092 for two years without a single problem so I’m confident that there is no problem in this area (Okay, I went ahead and checked anyway). The store manager is going to thinking that I am beating the s… out of my equipment! Okay RX-V1 owners, anyone else having/had similar problems?
     
  2. Keith Mickunas

    Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 1998
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's a strange problem with the RX-V1 that many people have run across. Apparently when something is plugged into the pre-out, it lifts a pin that disconnects the amp for that channel. Apparently that pin can be lifted by accident. If you put an RCA cable into the ins/outs and remove it, it may drop the thing back in place. That worked for me when my left channel suddenly went out.

    Of course, its pretty damn weird that one went and was followed by the other. If the connectors aren't the problem, you may have just really bad luck.
     
  3. DonnyD

    DonnyD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There was a thread somewhere concerning this issue with the RX-V1 and it is pretty much as the above post suggested. Just plugging an rca in and out the preouts a couple of times has fixed this for most. I've had my RX-V1 for about 5-6 months and have had none of these problems but there does appear to be a simple fix if I do.

    Good luck with it.
     
  4. Cliff

    Cliff Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 1998
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,
    Here is a thread which discusses this problem. Apparently it has been experienced by many RX-V1 owners. As I use external amps with my RX-V1, I have never seen the problem myself, but I have read about it several times.
    If the trick of pushing an RCA plug in and out of the pre-out/main-in jacks does not work permanently, I would think that connecting the pre-outs with the main-ins via short cables might do the trick.
    Cliff
     
  5. Jeff_Johnson

    Jeff_Johnson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You've got a cold beer waiting if you're ever this far north Keith. Your suggestion worked like a charm! I'll pass this info on to my retailer. Now I think I'll try to get another A/V equipment lucky streak going. Happy Holidays to you and yours!
     
  6. Keith Mickunas

    Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 1998
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad I could help. Aside from that minor quirk, its one fine receiver. Enjoy!
     

Share This Page