What's new

Yamaha receivers (1 Viewer)

Andrew*B

Auditioning
I just bought a Yamaha rx-v557 that is running a set of dcm kx series speakers just wondering what people thought of Yamaha receivers. I paid $345 for this receiver a good guys could I get something that is better for the same price. I watch a lot of movies but listen to music frequently as well. I am new to home theater and some buddy told me Yamaha was good

RickRO

Stunt Coordinator
Andrew*B

I am new to HT as well and have been doing alot of lurking (searching?) around here. There is a vast amount of knowledge here at HTF and asking a open ended question about any piece of HT equipment is a loaded question. I have been thinking about Yamaha as well. I have listened to a mixture of Yamaha and Onkyo A/V recievers and I personally like them both. I have not listened to the same type of speakers with both Yamaha and Onkyo ie. Polk or whatever with both. I have listened to Yamaha with their speaker (not sure what line) and have listened to the Onkyo with Polk and Paradigm

There are alot of options and there are many people around here with good advice when it comes to this stuff. The main thing is if your set up sounds good to you and you are happy then don't let anyone else tell you otherwise. However.....if you are exposed to a truly great system such as a buddy or an aquaitence then be prepaired for the much dreaded "upgrade bug."

As people around here will tell you there is alot that depends on how you use your system and where it is located that directly affect your systems performance. There are some differences in systems used for HT and music, you will find people that will like towers for music and bookshelfs/subs for home theater. Search away and most importantly enjoy your system

DavidSGT

Stunt Coordinator
Hiya Andrew B,