Yamaha HTR-5760: On-Screen Display?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by questrider, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. questrider

    questrider Second Unit
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    195
    Real Name:
    Brian
    Did I miss something in my user's manual? I cannot for the life of me get the On-Screen Display (OSD) to work.

    Is it because I only have the Yamaha HTR hooked up to my Sony Wega through the component video out and the OSD doesn't work through the component out? Do I have to hook up the HTR to the TV through S-video? Is this what it means by the 5760 only doing up-conversion through S-video and the 5790 does up-conversion through component?

    I'm confused...
     
  2. questrider

    questrider Second Unit
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    195
    Real Name:
    Brian
    Nevermind. I'm an idiot and posted before I exhausted the Search feature of this site.

    You may all now assassinate me. [​IMG]
     
  3. Bobby T

    Bobby T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    since you already posted this and did the search should you post the answer for anyone else that might want to know? just a thought.
     
  4. Frank joe

    Frank joe Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so how did you get the on screen to work?????????
     
  5. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0

    You have to use either the composite connection or the S-Video connection the the 5760. The component connection will not display OSD info.
     
  6. questrider

    questrider Second Unit
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    195
    Real Name:
    Brian
    Yes, sorry for my rudeness.

    The OSD only works through composite or S-video. Also discovered that my DirecTV hooked up through the 5760 also needs to be fed through this S-video connection because of the non-upconversion to component of the 5760. Is my understanding correct that everything will run through the component cables output, OSD and S-video inputs (DirecTV, etc.) on the HTR-5790?

    If so, I think I may "trade-in/upgrade" before my 30 day return is up. One of my primary purposes of buying a new A/V system was that I only wanted to use one input on my TV and use the HTR as my exclusive A/V center.
     
  7. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brian, Your assumptions are essentially correct regarding the capabilities of the HTR-5790. However, since I don't own the 5790, I can't comment on the OSD capabilities via component cables. I'm pretty certain it will work, but won't put any money on it, since I haven't had one to try that option out. I did read something a bit interesting a while back regarding OSD and component. Apparently, there are different types of displays (on the TV side) that can/can't accept OSD information. I didn't bookmark the source and haven't been able to find it again. [​IMG]

    Finally, in my opinion, the best part of the HTR-5790 would be the parametric EQ portion of YPAO. I have a Pioneer Elite 54TX now and it is very good with the EQ at getting around some sound limitations in my room - due to all of the furniture, etc. I'm a big fan of the EQ adjustment - and love what it's done for both movies and music.

    Enjoy ! [​IMG]
     
  8. Will.MA

    Will.MA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember reading somewhere that OSD doesn't work with component video because OSD brings noise to the circuitry and the manufacturers assume if the end user is interested in the component video connection then the user expects uncompromising performance.

    I also was recently comparing the Yamaha 5760 & Pioneer 1014tx. Initially I was swayed toward the 5760 because of the cleaner power it produces in terms of THD and S/N ratio (0.04/0.09), (100, 95) but in the end I decided to buck up for the 5790 to get the 1014tx's power at Yamaha's lower noise ratings plus bi-amp capability for my front mains.

    I should have the 5790 sometime next week. After I've had some time to set it up and test it I'll post whether it will output OSD through component video.
     
  9. questrider

    questrider Second Unit
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    195
    Real Name:
    Brian
    So what did you find out, Will?

    Does the OSD function through the component output?

    Also, does anything input through S-video and composite upconvert to display through the component output?

    I've found on the 5760 that having the composite output from DirecTV -> composite input on the VCR and then output through the S-video monitor makes the DirecTV look really bad (rainbow banding) upconverted through the S-video output. However, the DirecTV S-video output direct to the 5760 through the S-video output looks fantastic. Makes me wonder if the S-video input upconverted through the component on the 5790 looks just as bad. That probably didn't make any sense!!! Lots of ins-and-outs, ya know what I mean, say no more, say no more, nick, nick. [​IMG]
     
  10. Will.MA

    Will.MA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brian,

    The company that ordered my video cables from was unable to provide the specified component video lines. Unfortunately I haven't had the time to shop around for another set. I'll likely get around to it in a few weeks after I return from a trip out of town I'll soon take. Upon my return I'll share my conclusions.

    According to the owner's manual, composite and S-Video WILL convert to component in the 5790. Haven't done much conversion with component as of yet for obvious reasons, but I can testify that my PS2 looks AWESOME through s-video loop! LOL. The level of detail now visible on my 32" JVC looks is as if the game is being played on an oversized computer monitor instead of on a direct-view TV. It's hard to imagine how the video performance could be improved upon by going component. I guess we'll just have to wait for the new Belkin interconnects to come in to see if that's the case.
     
  11. Will.MA

    Will.MA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, s-video DOES convert to component, and OSD works with composite-out monitor. Component conversion kicked the video detail up another notch. Definately the way to go. Colors/contrast/black levels have never been as rich.

    I wonder what I'll think when I get HDMI to HDMI connection from DVD to HDTV in a few months? Until then I'm definately very happy with my living-room setup put together on the cheap.
     

Share This Page