Yamaha HTR-5460 OSD with component

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Jac, Jun 25, 2002.

  1. Chris Jac

    Chris Jac Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Yamaha HTR-5460 receiver and currently have my DVD player hooked up with component cables to the Yamaha then Component cables to the TV. I cannot see the OSD (on-screen display) when watching DVDs. The OSD operates fine when watching Sat via S-video. Just wondering if there is a way to have the OSD operate via component. Is this what the "monitor out" s-video output is for? Can you connect component and s-video to the same tv input? didn't think that would be possible.
     
  2. Jason Caudill

    Jason Caudill Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In a word, No. The osd only works via s-video and composite video output. If an input has both an s-video and a component associated with it then it will only pick up one or the other.
     
  3. Greg Haynes

    Greg Haynes Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 1998
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome to the forum Chris! I think you'll like it here [​IMG]
    To answer your question, your receiver and 95%(maybe exaggerating here [​IMG]) of the rest of the world's receivers are unable to display OSD using component. There is only a handful of receivers that can display OSD using componenet. Ones that come to mind are Denon's AVR5803 and the Pioneer '49TX. You can see that these are flagship receivers, but I will expect to see this become the norm in the future.
    For now we are left using the s-video connections for OSD. Frankly, after I set everything I hardly ever go back to change anything.
     
  4. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The experimental question here, and I'm not clear if you tried it, is whether the Yamaha will recognize an S-Video from Monitor Out to the tv while the component cable is in place. (I do not have component cables, so ???)

    To get OSD from my Yamaha with S-Video from the rcvr, the tv video input must be switched to its S-Video screen position.
     

Share This Page