Y-Cable to Split Component Video

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Rutgar, Mar 16, 2004.

  1. Rutgar

    Rutgar Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to use the same DVD player to feed my RPTV and my FPTV. Will a quality "Y" cable out of the back of the DVD player work? If not, what's the alternative?

    Thanks.

    - Rutgar
     
  2. Cornelius

    Cornelius Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, that will change the impedance of the connections, which you don't want to do. You need a video distribution amplifier, such as the Niles Audio AVDA-3.

    CJ
     
  3. Rutgar

    Rutgar Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see. Is there a distribution amp for component video? I would have to buy three of the Niles Audio AVDA-3's, since they only have one video input.

    - Rutgar
     
  4. Cornelius

    Cornelius Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Rutgar

    Rutgar Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. Thank you for the information. I Ordered the distribution amp from Cables to Go. I thought about a switch, but the one's I found were as expensive as the amp, and most of them were designed for multiple inputs, with only one output. Which, of course, wouldn't work.

    - Rutgar
     
  6. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    A manual non-powered video switch will also send one source to your choice of three or four TV's, just by connecting it backwards.
     

Share This Page