XP User Logout Question...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob Landolfi, Feb 6, 2003.

  1. Rob Landolfi

    Rob Landolfi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got a new machine up and running, and am new to Windows XP. When I choose the user log off to switch between users, a program status window pops up and goes through a sequence to log off. The program that runs is "tfswctrl.exe". I don't remember if it did this the first few times I logged off when switching between users, or if this is the result of any hardware/software I've added. Can anyone tell me if they get this when logging off and switching users? Thanks.
     
  2. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Took me a little time to find out what it was, but here goes;

    It's an application that's installed when you put in an HP CD writer.

    It's safe to uninstall it.

    scroll down this page for a better explanation.

    http://www.answersthatwork.com/Taskl...tasklist_t.htm
     
  3. Rob Landolfi

    Rob Landolfi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brent,
    Thanks for the link and the info. I'll disable/delete this function of the DLA software that came with my Sony drive this weekend, and give it a shot. I didn't think that I originally had any hangups logging out, but recently upgraded the firmware for my Sony drive, and this must have been when I started having this happen.
     
  4. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    It's weird that you's get it with a Sony drive.

    A good now though[​IMG]

    Brent
     
  5. Rob Landolfi

    Rob Landolfi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought so, too. I had a 4x6x6 external HP CD burner on my old system that used the same software, but one of the upgrades to my new system's Sony DRU500A DVD/CD burner firmware was the inclusion of the HP/Veritas CD and DLA software. Now the DRU500A is called the DRU500AX, but it's just the 500A with the firmware upgrade already taken care of (as I understand it). Thanks again... I hate having some little glitch like that slow up an otherwise efficient system! Have a good one. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page