XBR400 service menu?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by RANDY FISHER, Jan 28, 2002.

  1. RANDY FISHER

    RANDY FISHER Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone please give me step by step instructions on how to access the service menu on my Sony XBR400 TV. I tried the posted DISPLAY, 5, VOLUME +, POWER but either nothing happens or it just turns on? Anyone know if I have to time it a certain way, press them in a certain sequence or what. Also, I had to have it serviced a few months ago under warrenty...is there a possibility that the service guy could have locked me out of the service menu somehow? I never tried to access it before.

    thanks Randy
     
  2. JasonRH

    JasonRH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Randy,

    The code is correct. The only thing I can think of is that you have to press them very fast.
     
  3. Kevin Mical

    Kevin Mical Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem. Turned out to be user error. After pressing the combination of keys you tried, press the 4 or 6 key and see if the green service menu options appear. I was waiting for something on the screen to indicate it was in the service mode (like my old Sony).
     
  4. RANDY FISHER

    RANDY FISHER Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kevin...the code's are entered while the set is off right? So are you saying that you don't hear the CRT fire up when you enter the code? If so I may have been there and did not know it. Or can you enter the menu while the set is on as well?

    thanks Randy
     
  5. JasonRH

    JasonRH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Randy,

    Try changing the channel after the set powers up or changing the video input and wait a few seconds to see if the service mode pops up.
     
  6. RANDY FISHER

    RANDY FISHER Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Took care of this with a Pronto macro...it always gets the timing perfect! Thanks all.
    Randy[​IMG]
     

Share This Page