XBox vs. PS2 on Technical merits

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tim Sly, Jan 7, 2002.

1. Tim Sly

Tim Sly Stunt Coordinator

I am new to the game console discussion and am leaning toward buying an Xbox. How do the two compare technically? Do they both support 480p games and future 1080i games? Both have DD 5.1 sound? I know xbox claims to have the first hard drive. Of course PS2 is a proven sytem with a huge following.

2. Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

DD5.1 Sound

X-Box= real-time

PS2= during cutscenes, not real-time

480p

X-Box= real-time

PS2= nope

There are better ways to compare them (I don't know any) but it should be mentioned that the PS2 has a crapload of excellent games, so buying it would be like instant satisfaction, whereas the X-Box has a few good games now, a bunch planned for release, and would be considered as a great investment.

If you want to buy on technical merits alone, X-Box.

3. NickSo

NickSo Producer

Nick So
    Doesnt PS2 have a couple EA titles with DTS Real-time support?

4. Dave F

Dave F Cinematographer

Yup, what Morgan said. Also, XBOX has 1080i & 720p capability, although only 2 1080i game have been announced so far.

-Dave

5. Scott L

Scott L Producer

Yea there are a couple of DTS releases from EA, but people say they don't sound as good as the DD tracks on Xbox games. Rent SSX Tricky for both systems and see for yourself.

6. Tim Sly

Tim Sly Stunt Coordinator

Which were announced for 1080i?

7. Bergan Peters

Bergan Peters Stunt Coordinator

I hadn't heard of a 2nd game being announced with 1080i, and I also doubt that Test Drive will come with it.

8. Dave F

Dave F Cinematographer

Sega GT2002 & Test Drive.

-Dave

9. Ike

Ike Screenwriter

Will I need a HD set top box for my HDTV to get 1080i/720p? If so, which one? (I'm a complete newbie to set top boxes). Where can I buy them?

10. Eric S M

Eric S M Agent

Ike,