What's new

Tino

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
20,308
Location
Metro NYC
Real Name
Valentino
There's one important manufacturer missing there...for the piece in the middle that everything works without. :)

Have you made any progress, or just going to live with it?

Edit: "4K Mode1 in Advanced Setup" is what most people say, might work for you too. I have no idea what it means...and just that you apparently have to go to a bit of "effort" to get into advanced setup mode. There was the same prob with Yamaha AVRs and PS4 Pro with 4K+HDR, so more info re that combo.

Yamaha is next on my list
 

CraigF

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2002
Messages
3,117
Location
Toronto area, Canada
Real Name
Craig
^ Make sure you try that "4K Mode 1" thing at least a few times. I read that it took a few tries for some people to get it to "take", perhaps involving power-cycling etc. Since I don't have a Yamaha AVR, it was awkward for me to get a good sense of it from written descriptions.
 

Tino

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
20,308
Location
Metro NYC
Real Name
Valentino
^ Make sure you try that "4K Mode 1" thing at least a few times. I read that it took a few tries for some people to get it to "take", perhaps involving power-cycling etc. Since I don't have a Yamaha AVR, it was awkward for me to get a good sense of it from written descriptions.
I don’t see that option at all on my Yamaha V 581 receiver.
 

CraigF

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2002
Messages
3,117
Location
Toronto area, Canada
Real Name
Craig
^ I'm not sure you have it, but I'm pretty sure some "lower models" (if we're going strictly by model numbers as an indication of "lower") have it. That's what I meant by "effort" to find the Advanced Setup menu, Yamaha made it a bit out of the way to prevent casual/accidental changes. If it's there, you would not be the first having trouble finding it, that's why there were so many questions re it for the PS4 Pro.
 

Tino

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
20,308
Location
Metro NYC
Real Name
Valentino
Does anyone have the Xbox one x hooked up through a receiver and getting both 4K and hdr? If so what receiver?
 

Tino

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
20,308
Location
Metro NYC
Real Name
Valentino
^ I'm not sure you have it, but I'm pretty sure some "lower models" (if we're going strictly by model numbers as an indication of "lower") have it. That's what I meant by "effort" to find the Advanced Setup menu, Yamaha made it a bit out of the way to prevent casual/accidental changes. If it's there, you would not be the first having trouble finding it, that's why there were so many questions re it for the PS4 Pro.
I searched every option under every menu. Not there.

Thanks btw for helping Craig.
 

CraigF

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2002
Messages
3,117
Location
Toronto area, Canada
Real Name
Craig
I searched every option under every menu. Not there.

Thanks btw for helping Craig.
You're welcome, but Tino, you definitely do have the option in the Advanced Setup menu, which your model definitely does have. That's the menu where you go for firmware updates etc. The unit has to be in Standby mode to activate it. Try p103 of the manual, it's a little procedure to access the menu.
 

Edwin-S

Premium
Joined
Aug 20, 2000
Messages
9,139
Snips from Yamaha V581 user manual.

Method to access advanced set up.

V581 advanced set up.PNG

Setting or checking mode.

Setting 4K mode.PNG
 

Tino

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
20,308
Location
Metro NYC
Real Name
Valentino
You're welcome, but Tino, you definitely do have the option in the Advanced Setup menu, which your model definitely does have. That's the menu where you go for firmware updates etc. The unit has to be in Standby mode to activate it. Try p103 of the manual, it's a little procedure to access the menu.
Holy Shit!!!!

That did it!!!

Getting full 4K, HDR and 7.1

Thanks Craig and Edwin!!

You guys Rock!:thumbsup::thumbsup:
 

Tino

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
20,308
Location
Metro NYC
Real Name
Valentino
Hold on a tic

Is anyone getting 7.1 sound from Call of duty WWII?

I think I have it set up correctly but I’m not getting 7.1. Or is it just 5.1? My receiver says 7.1 but I’m getting no sound from my rear speakers.
 

CraigF

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2002
Messages
3,117
Location
Toronto area, Canada
Real Name
Craig
I haven't scoured the whole web, but nothing official nor fanboy nor reviews etc. etc. even mentions the game's audio format, for any platform. Not even the game publisher cares enough to mention it..."red flag" for me, but not the least bit unusual.

Tino's display and AVR are perfectly capable of handling 7.1 over the ARC, so no probs there, it's not a "connection problem". If the game doesn't have an audio output format menu, as many (most?) don't seem to these days, then the game will output the best audio format it's capable of and leave your gear to re-fomat to suit i.e. 7.1 PCM output which your AVR can change to stereo or 5.1 etc.

Does the XB1X itself have an audio output format menu? I think it does. If you tell some other consoles to use e.g. 7.1 output, they'll always send all those channels even if some are empty (annoying), instead of using the setting as a maximum number of channels to send. So if it's like that, you might see 7.1 on your AVR even though it's really a 5.1 signal from the game, but 7.1 from the XB1X.

I'm not saying those two back channels from the game are empty (if it's not actually 5.1 audio) because I don't know. It seems unlikely a current game would do this, it's a tough and discerning crowd in many respects and they'd be all over that sooner or later. Maybe the back channels are active in some scenes. Maybe the back channels will be there in the enhanced version (or is this the enhanced version?...don't think so). Maybe an update will make the back channels (more) active. What I'm saying is it's better to design the back channels in at the beginning and use them later (if that's the plan).
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
350,718
Messages
4,928,234
Members
142,897
Latest member
Herman_tj
Recent bookmarks
0
Top