What's new

Xbox dvd (1 Viewer)

JasonMC

Stunt Coordinator
I heard that the XBox will upconvert standard 480i DVD material into 1080i. Is this true and could you provide a link to the info if possible.
Thanks

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
I'm no expert but I would say its possible either yes or no. The DVD ability isn't included, so it might not be able to upconvert the DVD, but it can play games at 1080i, so it might be able to. Does it really matter that much?

Joel Mack

Senior HTF Member
I'm no expert but I would say its possible either yes or no.
Um....yeah...
confused.gif

------------------
"If we blow up, whatever's left of me is kickin' your butt."

Dan B

Screenwriter
The Xbox is supposed to be able to scale DVD to 1080i by using the Ravisent Cinemaster software together with the NVidia chip. Ravisent ( www.ravisent.com ) used to have a downloadable PDF diagram of their Xbox Cinemaster software, but they've removed it from their website. I wouldn't count on it until we hear for sure, but the Xbox hardware is certainly capable of it...it just depends on the software.
-Dan

Camp

Senior HTF Member
Morgan,
LOL!! :) but you totally forgot to work in a "Nintendo is better that Microsoft" argument into that post!
:)

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
Did I mention that the GameCube will have a DVD version available next year that plays DVD out of the box for the same price as the X-Box without the DVD function?
Hows that?

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
Nothing is known about the DVD-able GCN. It could very well scale to 1080i, but we'll have to wait for more info from Nintendo and Panasonic.
The GCN doesn't play DVDs at all (except for the $300 version available next year) but it has many good qualities over the XB and PS2 (and they have their qualities over the GCN). If DVD is really that important, go buy a DVD player.

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
A great hdtv device that plays a few games too.