XBOX / Big Screen / HDTV / ....etc.etc.etc

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chad_Krumrey, Jan 4, 2002.

1. Chad_Krumrey

Chad_Krumrey Auditioning

Hello all,

I would like to begin by saying this is my first post on the HT forums. I've been browsing around here for the last few weeks and I am astounded at the wealth of information here. I have gained so much knowledge just by reading posts. Thanks. Kudos to the admins of this site. I'm new to the whole HT/gaming scene so I hope I can explain my questions in terms someone can understand.

Here are my observations/questions...

I recently bought a Toshiba 43inch (Model # 43A10) tv and DD/DTS surround system...DVD....etc. I purchased my XBOX and bought the high-def AV pack. I connected this to my xbox and ran the optical cable to my optical 2 input on my receiver (Optical 1 is being used by my DVD). On the back of my TV I have the component connections. I plugged those in, except the 2 audio since I am using the optical cable for this. Once I had the component cables plugged in I turned on my xbox and the video section of the dashboard had changed. I now had the option to enable 480p.....etc. I went ahead and enabled all them and when I put a game in, I had great sound but no picture. Does this mean my TV is not HDTV capable? If not, should I just leave all the 480...1080...etc disabled? Will I still get a better picture quality with the component cables, versus, the s-video even if I am unable to enable the video modes in the dashboard that I have now after hooking up the component cables? Anyone that can provide me with some info I would very much appreciate. I hope I am close to being on the right track.

Thanks in advance to anyone who responds.

Chad

2. Jeff Peake

Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

Hi Chad, welcome to the forum.

Your TV is not capable of displaying 480p....it is a standard television (not HDTV), and can only display 480i.