X10 Control of Toshiba TVs?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jay Mitchosky, Aug 16, 2001.

  1. Jay Mitchosky

    Jay Mitchosky Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 1998
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has been asked before but I can't recall a definitive answer. Given the lack of discrete power codes for Toshiba TVs would X10 (using an appliance module) present a safe alternative? Would cycling the power at the outlet cause problems for the TV's power supply in the near or long term?
    ------------------
    --Jay
    "No one can hear when you're screaming in digital."
    My Home Theatre Pictures...
    "You're no messiah. You're, you're a movie of the week. You're a ... t-shirt, at best."
     
  2. Endaf Jones

    Endaf Jones Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 1999
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't. My TW40X81 loses its screen mode (defaults to 4x3) when I unplug/plug just for a few seconds. The rest of the settings stay intact.
    You would also lose the pre-heated feature of the picture tubes for "instant-on". I'd think you would put extra strain in the tubes if you cycled from cold-warm on day-to-day operation.
     
  3. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jay i'm using an X10 plug on my TV if you want to see how it works. one thing though it takes forever for the TV to settle down from a hard power on so jumping to various inputs is almost impossible....thats the main reason I am now only using S-video and letting the receiver do the video switching. its worth it for me.
    ------------------
    http://www.attcanada.ca/~itisi
     

Share This Page