X1 and related accessories

Discussion in 'Displays' started by andy_brehm, Nov 13, 2003.

  1. andy_brehm

    andy_brehm Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    as some may know i am planning on purchaing a x1 in the somewhat near futher (month or two) and since money will be a bit tight i want to make sure i have everything accounted for. there will be 3 sources of input for the projector, PS2, DVD, and standard cable.

    With that said, i want to make sure that i know of everything i need to hook everything up. i dont want to get the projector then find out that i cant hook anything up to it! I have heard that i should get a vcr to hook the cable up to then run that to the projector. other than that, what all will i need to hook those sources up to the x1. thanks in advance.

    andy
     
  2. ChadLB

    ChadLB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is your DVD player....if it is interlaced you would want to use the s-video input if it is progressive you can use the VGA input with the adapters you can buy here:

    http://www.provantage.com/buy-7INFB0...t-shopping.htm

    So:
    PS2 can go into vga if DVD not progressive player
    DVD s-video if interlaced.
    Cable to composite
     
  3. andy_brehm

    andy_brehm Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is a progressive player. that good, it just sounds like i need to buy a couple of adapeters to get everything to work out alright. I wasnt too excited about buying a vcr just to hook everything up, id never use it i dont think!
     
  4. ChadLB

    ChadLB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me rephrase the Cable part....cable into VCR, then video out(VCR) to video in of projector with a composite cable...
    You need something to act like a tuner box...A vcr can be had for around $40.....
     
  5. andy_brehm

    andy_brehm Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, well i almost got lucky. there is no way around buying a vcr then?

    btw: any suggestions on a vcr? i havent looked at one in over 7 years. just something cheap that will get the job done


    thanks
     
  6. ChadLB

    ChadLB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think any VCR would do the trick if you are only using it as a tuner.....
    It is a nice machine for the Price...I demoed it for 10 days but chose the Z1 because of true 16:9 mode.
    I watched some TV/Movies on it and it was awesome......Think about it 2 or 3 years ago I paid $860 for my 36" tube TV and for the $1,000 mark you can get into FP ...who wouldn't.....
     
  7. ChadLB

    ChadLB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dean,
    VCR up via composite as there is no Component input on the X1 ....
     
  8. andy_brehm

    andy_brehm Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool, i guess ill start looking for a vcr now in preparation.

    as for the different aspect ratio's of the projector. i know that it is a native 4:3 but has a 16:9 mode. for some reason i dont think im understanding everything about this. the way i understand it is you can play 16:9 material on the projector using this mode but it will have a lower resolution than a true 16:9 native projector. will the image size still be the same, just fewer pixels?

    also, i know someone tried to explain this before, but im still fuzzy. the native resolution is 800x600 but it has a maximum of 1024x768 or something. what is the higher resolution for? i assume that it cant display at that resolution or everyone would use it. what exactly does that resolution tell me about the projector?

    thanks
     
  9. andy_brehm

    andy_brehm Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. ChadLB

    ChadLB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Suhas

    Suhas Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I apologize in advance if these questions have been answered before.

    I am also considering buying an X1 and have a few newbie questions about it. I am planning to hook up the following to my projector: XBOX, HDTV-capable Cable box, DVD player.

    The current setup I have has all my equipment in an equipment cabinet at the front of the room. The projector will be about 12 feet away. The way I understand it, I will need the following:
    - Some kind of switching device to take component video signals from the 3 sources and convert them to a single signal.
    - A long set of component video cables to take the signal from my switcher box to the X1.
    - An adaptor to convert the component video to S-video input.

    Is this correct? If yes, what should I expect to pay for this?

    Some other questions:
    - Are there any issues with sending component video signals over a fairly long distance as I am doing? Will I need to buy cables with better shielding for this?
    - Is there any issue with loss of quality or resolution when converting a component video signal to S-Video? I was under the impression from reading this forum that component video provided much better color and resolution than S-video. Is that correct?

    I am addicted to PIP with my current 61" Sony rear projection. Are there tuner devices that will do HDTV PIP that I can use with a projector (I expect that one of the pictures will be non-HD since my cable box will only have 1 tuner)?
     
  12. andy_brehm

    andy_brehm Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a matrox g450 i believe. im not sure exactly, but its matrox's dual head video card. the only outputs it has are two vga that go to my monitors.

    one thing i forgot to add earlier. since i dont have any HD sources, would it be a worth while investment to use a HTPC? I have a spare motherboard in the closet, but i would have to buy everthing else.

    Thanks
     
  13. Jed M

    Jed M Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Suhas, in your situation you really don't need the s-video adapter. If you want to watch HDTV or progressive scan on your X1 then you need the Component to vga adapter. If you want to use your x-box or watch regular, non-upconverted cable, then you need just an s-video cable. If you only want to watch 480i dvd with component cables, then buy the component to s-video adapter.

    So if you want HDTV (which you definitely do on the X1) you will probably need to run 2 cables. 1 VGA (w/adapter) for hdtv, dvd, upconverted cable and 1 S-Video for PS2 and cable.
     
  14. andy_brehm

    andy_brehm Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, i just balanced my chekcbook and found that i have $1200 i can spend on a projector. i think im going to purchase the x1 and get a cheap model b screen....matte white or something along those lines. i have found the projector for $950 w/free shipping, has anyone seen it for cheaper?

    thanks!
     
  15. Suhas

    Suhas Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jed, thanks for helping me get unconfused. I understand now that I need the VGA cable rather than the S-video.

    I want to use the 480p component output from my XBOX so I guess I will need some kind of input selection/mixing device to multiplex the inputs from my XBOX with the cable box.
     

Share This Page