X-Box problem...What to do?

Arthur Legardo

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 21, 1999
Messages
441
Real Name
ArthurL
I've gone through my second X-Box in two days, both units have had the same problem: Halo and Munch's Odyssey only ouput in stereo, not 5.1

Should I return everthing and say "To [email protected] with Microsoft"? Or should I send it off to Microsoft and have them fix it? Or should I just be satisifed that I can at least approximate 5.1 with DPL2 (with my Denon 3802)?
Your opinions please...
 

Jeffrey Noel

Screenwriter
Joined
Sep 11, 2001
Messages
1,533
I would NOT settle with anything less than what the X-Box is supposed to do! If you haven't already, I'd call the X-Box help line to see what they say. If they say they don't know what to do, to hell with them!!
But, if you do decide to say "Screw the X-Box" and get a Gamecube, just remember that it does not offer 5.1. But let me tell you, it is amazing!
Best of luck on whatever you decide!!
GAME ON!!
------------------
God bless!
jeffrey noel
My DVD Collection
 

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2000
Messages
9,349
GCN doesn't offer DD5.1, but it can do DTS I think. I know its not as good, but at least its something.
 

James St

Supporting Actor
Joined
May 8, 1999
Messages
959
Arthur, I would try to get it fixed or return it for another.Also Gamecube can't do DTS either unless you're talking about Neo 6. A digital output is required for any true 5.1.
 

Stefan A

Second Unit
Joined
May 27, 2001
Messages
397
Arthur
Maybe I don't need to say this, but did you use the correct cable and plug it in correctly? Was you equipment on all the correct settings - Xbox and your receiver?
The 1st xbox I bought would not produce any sound in games. I knew I set it up correctly. The 2nd one worked fine. I guess the odds are that a 2nd unit will work - but not necessarily. If one is broken, many could be broken. Perhaps you were just unlucky and got 2 broken ones in a row.
Anyway, if you have your heart set on the x-box, do what it takes to get a working one. Exchange if possible or get it fixed. I can tell you (as many others have been saying), that the 5.1 is worth it.
------------------
Stefan Antwarg
My DVD Collection
The Regal Brass Quintet Not HT related
 

Gui A

Supporting Actor
Joined
Dec 25, 2000
Messages
596
Isn't the DD out on the Advanced AV pack? I don't think it's part of the Xbox itself.
 

Tony_I

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Oct 6, 2001
Messages
77
Exchange your Xbox and get one without a Sound problem. Bound to be a few bad apples in the bunch...
 

Aaron Copeland

Second Unit
Joined
Nov 3, 2000
Messages
445
Real Name
Aaron
I'm sort of in the same boat. I can get 5.1 to work, but I'm having problems with a popping sound coming from my speakers from time to time and the sounds dropping totally on other ocassions.
It's not consistent either. I can sometimes play Halo for a couple hours with no problems. Then I will start it up a little while later and the problems surface again. It's terribly annoying.
I have tried two different AV packs and both produced the same result. Also, the problem does not occur if I switch the sound to stereo instead of surround. So I'm inclined to believe that the problem lies in the XBOX itself.
The problem I have is that I bought mine online from EBgames so making a return is going to be a hassle. I'm debating if I should go try and buy another at a place like Wal-Mart (and hope it works) and send my current one back to EBgames for a refund...or should I go ahead and wait for MS to call me back when they track down the problem and possibly have to send mine in for repair?
Aaron
 

Tony_I

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Oct 6, 2001
Messages
77
Hmm... I would try picking an extra Xbox up at a local wal-mart , BestBuy...etc, so you can get back to your 5.1 gaming.
Send your first one Back to EBgames after you hunt one down from a local.
I remember hearing a "rumor" about the sound chips having manufacturing problems and being the main reason for the shortage of systems.
Looks like it wasn't quite a rumor after all

[Edited last by Tony_I on November 18, 2001 at 04:52 PM]
 

Matty B

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Messages
227
GCN doesn't offer DD5.1, but it can do DTS I think. I know its not as good, but at least its something.

This is the stupidest statement I've ever heard in my entire life. Bar none. and i have a friend that has exclaimed "I hate reading" before.
BARRING the argument that I subscribe to that DTS is SUPERIOR to DD5.1, they are at a MINIMUM equal.
 

AndyVX

Supporting Actor
Joined
Aug 2, 2000
Messages
804
It's been posted all over the web on various gaming forums that there are problems with the Sound Chip in a few Xbox's. The result is the popping and cracking of audio and dropouts here and there.
The only thing you can do to remedy this is to get a new Xbox. You can go through as many AV Paks as you want, but you wont fix the problem.
Microsoft has yet to release any statement about this problem and what they are going to do about it. Hopefully they are at least aware of the problem and are figuring out what to do about it.
Andrew
------------------
ICQ# - 119869807
 

Arthur Legardo

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 21, 1999
Messages
441
Real Name
ArthurL
Geez, I go away for a couple of hours and look what happens to my thread!

Thanks to all of those who replied.
Stefan A, yes, everything was connected properly to my existing HT. I even bought another S-Video (with toslink) connection kit today just to rule out a faulty original S-Video connection kit. The first one I bought was from Mad Catz, it even said "5.1" on the box. The second one was straight from Microsoft.
I checked the settings on my receiver and X-Box twice and then rechecked them just to make sure and still "no go". I even pulled out my DVD player's connections (working 5.1), didn't change any settings on the receiver and connected the X-Box to it and still nothing.
Tony_I,
quote: Exchange your Xbox and get one without a Sound problem. Bound to be a few bad apples in the bunch...[/quote]
Now the only problem with this is that the consoles aren't that ubundant up here as they are in the US. I had to go to three different Futureshops to get a replacement for my X-Box.
Well, I've made my decision, it's going back tomorrow, let's hope they give me a full refund.
[Edited last by Arthur Legardo on November 18, 2001 at 06:03 PM]
 

Arthur Legardo

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 21, 1999
Messages
441
Real Name
ArthurL
Microsoft has yet to release any statement about this problem and what they are going to do about it. Hopefully they are at least aware of the problem and are figuring out what to do about it.
I called 1-800-4MY-XBOX the other night and spoke to a CSR on the other end who sounded to be much younger than myself. I told him of my problem and said that it was new to him, he hadn't heard of the problem before, he even confirmed that Halo was in fact in 5.1.
 

Aaron Copeland

Second Unit
Joined
Nov 3, 2000
Messages
445
Real Name
Aaron
I called 1-800-4MY-XBOX the other night and spoke to a CSR on the other end who sounded to be much younger than myself. I told him of my problem and said that it was new to him, he hadn't heard of the problem before, he even confirmed that Halo was in fact in 5.1.
I called that number as well. The guy I talked to said he had taken another call with someone who had the exact same problems I do. I gave them my name, address, and phone number and they said they "escalated" my status which means they will call me when they figure out the problem and what I need to do about it.
I just back from Wal-Mart in a hunt to find another XBOX...no luck...all sold out

Aaron
 

Stefan A

Second Unit
Joined
May 27, 2001
Messages
397
Arthur
Believe me... your problems are exactly what I had. My choice was to either return it and find a new one - or, send it to microsoft for repair. X-boxes are sparce around here too, but if you are tenacious enough, you will find one.
Stefan
 

CraigR

Agent
Joined
Feb 5, 1999
Messages
27
Well I've had a similar problem. I can get analog sound but nothing through the optical cable. I've tried different HD AV paks, different optical cables and even the monster cable approach and still no digital sound. It does sound pretty good through my system as is...but I'm thinking this thing should work with the digital cable on sound. Oh, and yes I have gone into the settings mode and made the correct settings. I think I'll check with the store and see what they can do.
 

Arthur Legardo

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 21, 1999
Messages
441
Real Name
ArthurL
Well, I just got back from Futureshop (the store where I bought it from) and they took it back without question (or, questions?)! I just told them that I'd rather wait until a "fixed" version becomes available.
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
344,925
Messages
4,724,886
Members
141,358
Latest member
beekeeper