X Box a/v question!! Please help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Elbert Lee, Dec 25, 2001.

  1. Elbert Lee

    Elbert Lee Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty much decided on an X Box for my next game system but I'm a bit confused. I have an hd ready set and 7.1 surround so plan to use all of the x box features.

    Monster Cable and x box sells the component video connection with analog audio outputs. I don't notice any optical or coax digital outputs on the console. Does this mean that I have to purchase the "Advanced A/V pack" in order to get 5.1 and a progressive scan image? BTW - I also didn't notice any optical outputs on the Advanced A/V pack.

    What is the best way to hook it up? Use the advance av pack or go direct with Monster's component video?

    Thanks for the help?

    Elbert
     
  2. Ike

    Ike Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go with the HD pack-it comes with the inputs to hook it up to a 5.1 and Progressive Scan. I think you need to buy the cable to go to the receiver is all (is it an optical cable? I'm not sure.)
     
  3. Elbert Lee

    Elbert Lee Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    THanks, IKE. But, wouldn't the AV pack and optical cable mean the same as getting the component video cable and optical cable, except that I would be spending $20 less?

    Elbert
     
  4. KevinHunt

    KevinHunt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is my question along the same topic. I'm also thinking of getting an Xbox. My HT pre/pro only has 1 optical audio input which I use for my DTV receiver to get DD with satellite movies. Is there some kind of optical splitter I can use and plug the satellite optical into and the Xbox optical into then a singal optical into the pre/pro? Then the pre/pro produce whichever is active? I found one at Radio Shack, but it describes it as being used to split the optical output of a singal source, such as a DVD player, into 2 seperate outputs. Can this be used in reverse for my situation? Thanks in advance.

    Kevin
     
  5. Henry Colonna

    Henry Colonna Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a good point - I don't have my XBox yet, but I have two optical inputs - DVD and DirectTivo. I don't have a third!
     
  6. Brian W. Ralston

    Brian W. Ralston Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Real Name:
    Brian W. Ralston
    On my Sony 50ES receiver, I have two digital connections for my DVD player input. One is Coaxial, the other optical. I just use the coax for the DVD player and the optical for the X-Box......set the receiver to auto select on the digital input and all is well as far as the sound goes.

    I use the S-Video for the X-Box through the receiver and Component video directly into the TV for the DVD so there are no problems with the video getting crossed either.

    I just make sure the DVD and X-Box are not trying to play sound at the same time. When one is on....the other is off.
     
  7. James St

    James St Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 1999
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Elbert, the Monster component cables come with a proprietary digital audio output. You will have to buy the Monster brand optical cable in order to get 5.1. Both the Advanced pack(s-video, composite, analog and optical digital audio) and the HD pack(component video, analog and optical digital audio) will give you 5.1.
    For those looking for a optical switcher, I found this one at Crutchfield. I'm there are others out as well.
    http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...8SBD30&o=P&a=0
     
  8. Andrew s wells

    Andrew s wells Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    why is the monster component cable so much more price wise than the hd pack? i can't imgine there being a whole lot of difference between the two.
     
  9. Michael Hudson

    Michael Hudson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran out of inputs as well. I have three optical but four coming in. I picked up a spliter from radio shack for the PS2 and XBox it works great. So that may be an option for you.
     
  10. elMalloc

    elMalloc Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please give more info on this splitter?

    My receiver is having trouble taking my xbox connection (I use SVIDEO or composite and both produce wavy lines on th screen, I'm using monster cables. Funny, my PS2 which also uses monster exhibits no wavy lines on the screen. Gamecube is goign through pelican svideo on receiver and no wavy lines either.....)
     
  11. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can check out the details on the splitter Here
    Dean
     
  12. elMalloc

    elMalloc Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    Anything that could be a "combiner" where I can make one fiber optic input have 2 inputs, and it only select the one that is on?

    Thanks,

    ELmO
     
  13. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    3
    That splitter works as a combiner too, you just have to make sure that you don't have both on at the same time.

    Dean
     
  14. Michael Hudson

    Michael Hudson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know I tried the splitter with both my PS2 and XBOX on and the Xbox over rode the PS2, I am not sure if it is because of the 5.1 but that was the case. The splitter I the link is the one I picked up no complaints at all.
     
  15. elMalloc

    elMalloc Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    More detail Hudson, please.

    You tried a splitter with both on at the same time, or you tried a different splitter?

    You tried the splitter in the link and it worked fine?

    Thanks,

    ELmO
     
  16. elMalloc

    elMalloc Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just called radio shack and they said that fiber optic splitter isn't a switch....why'd he tell me that?

    You guys did tell me I can plug xbox and ps2 into that splitter, and the one end into the receiver's fiber optical input, and it will recognize either ps2 or xbox (whichver is on) right?

    They confuse me when they call it a splitter, and don't talk about how you could use it as a combiner..?

    -ELmO
     
  17. Elbert Lee

    Elbert Lee Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    dunno about the splitter. Fortunately, I don't need it. However, having never been able to see what the Hi Def A/V pack looks like (packaging covers the unit), I don't know if there is an optical output on it. Furthermore, I don't see how the digital signal can be transfered from the X-Box's A/V output, which doesn't seem to have an optical out and turn it into an optical signal, ultimately through the HiDef pack to a receiver.

    CAn anyone enlighten me on this?
     
  18. Sean Oneil

    Sean Oneil Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  19. Michael Hudson

    Michael Hudson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK here is the deal with my splitter. I tried it with the PS2 on first and the XBOX off and it worked fine. I then turned the XBOX on to see what would happen and the Xbox sound came in. I then turned the PS2 off and back on while the XBOX was on and the XBOX was still the unit that the I heard. I think you would be best to use just one thing at a time but I just wanted to see what would happen. [​IMG]
     
  20. Michael Hudson

    Michael Hudson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Radio shack sells a switcher and a splitter. The switcher has four in one out with a toggle switch, the splitter is just a Y. Two in one out one signal at a time. I think the splitter would work fine for your needs.
     

Share This Page