1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Would an HTPC be necessary for me?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Max Knight, Sep 10, 2002.

1. Max Knight

Max Knight Supporting Actor

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to the HTPC stuff, though I feel like an old hand at other HT items!

I'm considering a low-end projector (Panasonic AE-100 or one of the newer ones), and got the general feeling that if you went with a projector, you should go with a HTPC.

How much of an increase in image quality would an HTPC net me? I would ONLY use this for DVD. I'm very happy with my Mac for all my computing/music use, I love my Tivo and have no desire to try to build a PVR on my own. I don't really play video games. The only thing my HTPC would do is play DVD video.

So, with an AE-100, or other similar LCD projector, how much better would a HTPC be than my Toshiba 6200 progressive scan player?

2. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

Max,

This might be a better question for the Display area here, or even over on AVS. The issue of "will this be better" is more an issue of the native resolution of the projector and the internal scaling activity.

Basically, in a situation like mine (LT-150 from NEC)- my projector has a native res of 1024x768- and anything fed to the projector that ISN'T 1024x768 progressive will be scaled to that 1024x768 point. But, because the internal scaler looks, well, poopy- the projector really dictated that I feed it 1024x768.

Since that resolution was not available from a progressive DVD player (which is sending a 480p signal)- my only choice was to live with the internally scaled image or do something about supplying it with a 1024x768 signal. The options of supplying it with 1024x768 were HTPC or Scaler, and with all the various advantages of a HTPC versus a stand alone scaler- I opted for HTPC.