Working with a 8x11 space in an apartment...

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by MegCHammer, Jul 15, 2005.

1. MegCHammer

MegCHammer Auditioning

Hey guys, I'm Meg, and I'm a newbie. [​IMG]

I live in an apartment with my mom(I'm 19), and my sister recently went to live with her grandparents, leaving her room up for grabs. I saw an opportunity to claim the room and turn it into a dedicated mini-home theater. I'm working with a very small space...8x11, and a *very* limited budget...about $350. I already have an entertainment center, brand new TV(only 20 inches that I bought with my tax return), and a new DVD player. I plan to use my stereo system as a surround sound system. For seating I'm purchasing an all black futon(my sister will still come to visit, so she needs an area to sleep in), and I already have a black moon chair. I bought a black lamp with a built in lava lamp, and framed all of my movie posters. The room will be scattered with other movie memorabilia that I've collected over the years.

I have a few questions about using my space and budget to the best of my ability. I also have limitations...I can't paint the room anything other than white, and can't make any permanent changes, since I'm in an apartment. My favorite feature of a lot of the HT's on here are the twinkling stars in the ceiling. I was wondering if there was a way to get that effect without any construction, and without shelling out a lot of money.

My other question is...do you think a matte made of coreboard and fabric would be a nice effect in my room, or kind of pointless? Obviously, the TV won't be on the floor, and I can't make it appear like it's behind a wall...I would be attaching the matte to the front of my entertainment center(which is black).

Any other suggestions would be great. I'm really concerned about the walls being white and it not having a theater feel because of that.

Thanks! [​IMG]

2. KeithMoechnig

KeithMoechnig Stunt Coordinator