What's new

Wiring tv and harmon/Kardon receiver (1 Viewer)

MBernal

Auditioning
Real Name
Mario Bernal
Hello all, I am a noob and in need of some serious help on wiring my flat screen LG PT350 Plasma, LG BD640 Bluray player and a harmon kardon AVR 510 receiver. Basically, I just dont know what I am doing when it comes time to plug everything in to each other. My surround sound is a 5:1 Energy speaker set up and I have them all plugged into the receiver but now I am lost. I have monster cable HDMI, component cables, phoenix gold composite cables and s-video cables, I can also get any cables I might need to add. Please any help would be greatly appreciated. Below are the links to my equipment info and a photo of what I am working with. LG 42PT350 Plasma 1080i [/B ]6 A/V inputs, including: 1 composite video 2 component video 3 HDMI v1.4 PC input RF input for antenna/cable signals optical digital audio output http://answers.lg.com/answers/7676/product/1000013459/lg-electronics-42pt350-questions-answers/questions.htm LG BD640 Bluray player Audio L/R Out1 (Rear )HDMI™ Out1 (Rear) Composite Video Out1 (Rear) Component Video Out1 (Rear) Ethernet/LAN (RJ-45) 1 (Rear) USB 2.01 (Front) Digital Audio Out (Coaxial)1 (Rear) http://www.lg.com/us/tv-audio-video/video/LG-blu-ray-dvd-player-BD640.jsp harmon/kardon avr 510 http://www.harmankardon.com/resources/Brands/harmankardon/Products ProductRelatedDocuments/en-US/OwnersManual/AVR%20510%20OM%20FINAL%20(REV%203.30.01).pdf Thanks in advance

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Hi Mario,

The Receiver does not have HDMI, so the simplest option is to use HDMI for the video connection from Blu-Ray player directly to the TV, and use a digital optical cable to connect the audio out from the Blu-Ray player to a digital optical input on the receiver.