Wiring tempest in parallel

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bob Bartlett, Apr 27, 2002.

  1. Bob Bartlett

    Bob Bartlett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently using a stereo receiver to power my tempest sonosub but will be moving to a sub amp, can I wire the tempest in parallel from the two sets of speaker terminals on the outside of the enclosure instead of taking the sub apart and doing it internally? Would I just run a jumper from positive to positive and negative to negative and then hook up just one of the terminals to the sub amp?

    Bob
     
  2. Pete Mazz

    Pete Mazz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. It will be a 4 ohm load.

    Pete
     
  3. Bob Bartlett

    Bob Bartlett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Pete. I didn't want to fry anything. I ordered the parts express amp that is on sale.

    Bob
     
  4. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,717
    Likes Received:
    463
    That is a sweet deal at Parts Express. I did one of the available mods to get rid of the boost on another of the same amp model. Not too hard if you're decent with a soldering tool and de-soldering braid.
     
  5. Chris Tsutsui

    Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what's the preferred method of parallel wiring?
    1. Running 2 pairs of wires to the terminal or amp,
    2. or connecting one voice coil to the amp with one pair, and then connecting the other voice coil to the other 2nd voice coil.
    I used #2 before, but wonder if #1 would be a better choice. (or same) btw, I got the same amp, just saved me like $36. [​IMG]
     
  6. Brian Fellmeth

    Brian Fellmeth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no difference except that #1 uses more wire
     

Share This Page