wiring suggestions

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Chris Fleming, Jul 14, 2006.

1. Chris Fleming

I've just made some cables using RG-6 and and some crimp on connectors. For the first time in my life, I sprang for the correct tools (connector specific cable stripper, crimper, and ends). The results were very nice. It enabled me to hang a small LCD display on the wall in the kitchen and locate the receiver in a closet. I made in-wall runs for component, stereo, and standard coax connectors with custom wall plates at each end. I also used an infra-red repeater. The results were very nice and work great!

Anyway, the toughest part was pushing the wall plates onto the drywall ring due to the stiffness of the cable. I'm really new at this type of diy work, so I used "standard" RG-6 cable. Can anyone recommend a "softer", more pliable and flexible type of RG-6? I'm not even sure if such a cable exists, but it would make future projects MUCH easier!

Thanks in advance for input and advice.

2. Joey Skinner

Joey Skinner Second Unit

Would a right angle connector like this work?

3. Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton Ambassador

Jason Charlton
    RG-6 cable is stiff because it has a solid center conductor. Solid center conductors provide added bandwidth capacity that is important for transmitting HD content. More pliable cables, made from RG-59 and such, have a stranded center conductor that won't carry HD as well, but are much easier to work with. For a small LCD screen in the kitchen, as you describe, you may be OK with a short run of RG-59 if image quality isn't of utmost importance. Keep in mind that if the signal is split too many times upstream, you may have a significantly weaker signal to work with and a thinner cable may not cut it. Good luck with the re-wiring. I'm in the process of doing it throughout my new house and it's nice to see it all come together nice and neatly.

-Jason

4. Chris Fleming