Wiring everything together (DVD, TV, Receiver) - Help!

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Darren:Lim, Jul 18, 2003.

1. Darren:Lim

Darren:Lim Auditioning

Hi everybody.
    I'm new to the HT scene. Today, I will be picking up my Denon AVR-2803 receiver and my Monitor Audio Bronze speakers. I will be using these with my existing Samsung DVD player and my Sony Wega tv.

My question is in regards to what I should be using to connect the DVD, Receiver and TV?
    So far, to connect the DVD to the receiver, I've come up with using a S-Video cable for video and a Optical cable for sound.

To connect my TV to the Receiver, I'll be using a S-Video cable coming out of the receiver and into the TV. The sound connection is what is confusing me. I see at the back of the TV (well actually the manual) that there is only one Audio Out, RED and White, so that means that its only analog right? I have to connect this using any plain analog cable from the Audio IN on the receiver to the Audio Out of the TV so that if I'm just watching tv, I'll be pumping the sound out of the MA speakers via the receiver. Does this make sense?

By doing all this, will it ensure the best possible sound/video?

Thanks for your help!

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Hi Darren. Welcome to HTF! [​IMG]

Here is a rule:

Only run video through the receiver if you have 2 OR MORE of the same connection types

Since you only list a DVD player, just run SVideo straight to the TV. Using the receiver as a switch is kind of silly if you only have 1 source. (There is nothing to switch to - think about it.)

TV:

Most people have a CATV or Satallite receiver or VCR that produces audio. In your case, you have the TV.

Yes, those are ANALOG connections. And you have to use them.