Wireless XBox

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Todd Henry, Dec 28, 2002.

  1. Todd Henry

    Todd Henry Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my XBox live all set up with the XBox connected directly to my router, but I can't get the wireless portion to work.

    I bought a Wireless Access Point (WAP11) to connect to the XBox. Most of the how to's mention a bridge (WET11). Will it work with what I bought?

    Thanks
    Todd
     
  2. Bill Harada

    Bill Harada Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll need both the WAP11 and the WET11 in order to get a wireless connection to your XBox. The WAP11 gives you the wireless access point while the WET11 gives you the bridge needed to give the XBox a way to connect to the access point.
     
  3. Todd Henry

    Todd Henry Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    That is what I thought. I also bought the 4 port wireless router. I will try to go back to CompUSA and return the WAP and see if I can get the WET11.

    Todd
     
  4. Bill Harada

    Bill Harada Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. it gets confusing. Especially when the WAP has a bridge mode. What isn't clear is that the WAP's bridge is strictly for bridging two wireless networks together, not for adding wireless access to a device.

    Good luck on your Live gaming!

    Bill
     
  5. Todd Henry

    Todd Henry Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    I exchanged the WAP11 for the WET11 and when I try to install the bridge it tells me it can't locate the bridge. Are there some lights that I should look for to see if it is hooked up right?

    Thanks
    Todd
     
  6. Todd Henry

    Todd Henry Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it working, I think. I had to connect the bridge to the router first to configure it, but I got the WLAN light to light up.

    Todd
     
  7. Jay Mitchosky

    Jay Mitchosky Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 1998
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Moving this to Hardware.
     

Share This Page