Wireless xbox/router question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Joe Szott, Jun 15, 2004.

  1. Joe Szott

    Joe Szott Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Quick question, I'm sure there is a simple answer. I have a wireless 802.11b router that I use to share cable modem and as print server. Since the xbox is in another part of the house next to TV, I have a wireless dongle (extender?) to get it on the network. This works great for now, but soon I might get the PS2 network adapter and add an HTPC next to this TV.

    So I need to expand the wireless xbox dongle from handling 1 client to 3-4 ethernet client. Since the wireless thingie has only one port in back, do I just need a hub to expand the # of ports, or is a switcher more appropriate? I've never understood exactly what the difference between hub and switcher is, so not sure what I want for this setup.

    Any advice is welcomed...
     
  2. Joe Szott

    Joe Szott Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Quick question, I'm sure there is a simple answer. I have a wireless 802.11b router that I use to share cable modem and as print server. Since the xbox is in another part of the house next to TV, I have a wireless dongle (extender?) to get it on the network. This works great for now, but soon I might get the PS2 network adapter and add an HTPC next to this TV.

    So I need to expand the wireless xbox dongle from handling 1 client to 3-4 ethernet client. Since the wireless thingie has only one port in back, do I just need a hub to expand the # of ports, or is a switcher more appropriate? I've never understood exactly what the difference between hub and switcher is, so not sure what I want for this setup.

    Any advice is welcomed...
     
  3. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A switch is basically a smart hub. It knows what information goes where, while a hub will send the information to all ports resulting in more collisions than with a switch.
     
  4. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A switch is basically a smart hub. It knows what information goes where, while a hub will send the information to all ports resulting in more collisions than with a switch.
     
  5. Joe Szott

    Joe Szott Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So will a switch solve my problem?
     
  6. Joe Szott

    Joe Szott Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So will a switch solve my problem?
     
  7. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If DHCP is handled by the router then, yes, a switch is all you need. I have the same thing going on in my basement, except that everything is wired and everything works well.
     
  8. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If DHCP is handled by the router then, yes, a switch is all you need. I have the same thing going on in my basement, except that everything is wired and everything works well.
     
  9. Joe Szott

    Joe Szott Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, the wireless router handles the DHCP for the network. Cool, I'll pick up a switcher next time at BB.
     
  10. Joe Szott

    Joe Szott Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, the wireless router handles the DHCP for the network. Cool, I'll pick up a switcher next time at BB.
     

Share This Page