1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

Wireless Router and mail program question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Richard Travale, Feb 17, 2005.

  1. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Hey all,
    I just bought myself a Netgear wireless router and after a couple hours I finally got it so that it will access the internet.
    Now my problem is with my outlook (also express and thunderbird). I try to get my mail and it says that it can't access my mail server.



    Now, I know that shawmail is the correct server.
    I talked to a friend who is also on Shaw and just got a laptop and wireless router. He was not able to get the mail working either so he just decided to rely on web based email solely. I would prefer not to do that so I'm asking you all if there is something that I am doing or not doing here.
     
  2. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    no suggestions eh?
     
  3. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Well, I found out what the deal was. It seems that routers like this do not like simple server names such as 'shawmail'. They need the full domain name. Found that and now it works like a charm.
     
  4. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,214
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Richard:

    I was going to say that normally for email you have to set up both the POP3 and the SMTP addresses in your program. So did you end up having to something like mail.shawmail.com or similar?

    Parker
     
  5. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Hi Parker,

    I had originally put in "shawmail" for both the POP3 and the SMTP, but unlike when I just had the computer directly connected to the modem, I had to put the full domain name. Which turned out to be, and this is for all of you western Canada Shaw customers,'shawmail.no.shawcable.net'.
     

Share This Page