Wireless networking solution for XBox?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by James D S, Jan 30, 2003.

  1. James D S

    James D S Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently have two XBoxes connected via cat-5 ethernet. I would like to find a good wireless solution that will allow me tho add my other systems and a few computers to the network. My problem is that I can't find a set/kit and Best Buy, or the like, that will allow me to hook up the XBoxes without buying at least two receiving stations. Is there not a way that would allow me to buy one station and a few wireless nodes? The Xboxes don't have PCMCIA, USB nor PCI slots, and this is the dilemma. Is there a company that produces add-on nodes that accept cat-5 connections?

    Thanks in advance!

    James
     
  2. Romar Armas

    Romar Armas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I and several others on this forum have the Linksys Wireless Router and the Linksys Wireless Bridge (WET11) connected to the Xbox via ethernet. Very quick and painless to install. And I didn't have to do any network settings on the Xbox as it's full DHCP. [​IMG]
     
  3. Randolph Damore

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The WET11 is the way to go. You might also want to look into a Wireless-to-Ethernet bridge from Microsoft or D-Link as the WET11 is pretty expensive - usually around $100.

    If you have multiple consoles you can also try getting a 4-port hub/switch, then connecting the uplink port from the hub to the wireless bridge. That way you don't have to buy a bridge for each console. The only drawback is you end up using CAT5 for the consoles.
     
  4. Drew Dockery

    Drew Dockery Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 1999
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK folks, while we're on the subject, I could use a little help. I'm finding the wireless networking thing just a little confusing as of late. I have a wireless router/4 port hub upstairs. I have 3 wired devices (PS2, XBOX, etc) downstairs. What is the easiest way for me to connect these three via ethernet cable to something downstairs that can wirelessly share that connection?
     
  5. Oscar Saenz

    Oscar Saenz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 1999
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Drew, you would want to purchase a switcher that lets you connect up to 4 components (I have my Dreamcast, Xbox, PS2 and GCN hooked up to a Netgear switcher that cost about $40) - you would then wire the switcher to the Linksys Wet11 bridge which would be "talking" to your wireless router.

    Right now, I'm running a 50' tripwire from the upstairs to the downstairs to connect my network. Hopefully, I'll soon have a new wireless router and Wet11 bridge to help with this problem.[​IMG]
     
  6. Drew Dockery

    Drew Dockery Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 1999
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Oscar, that's what I thought I could do, but then other posts were leading me to believe I'd need a wireless bridge on both ends that would be no good, I don't have that kind of money any time soon.
     
  7. Romar Armas

    Romar Armas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. DeepakJR

    DeepakJR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wireless Router -> Wireless Bridge -> Switch or Wired Router. Thatll work perfectly, just make sure the wireless and wired router arent using the same set of ips. After that its plug and plus any configuration you want to do.

    L8rz,
    Deepak Jr.
     
  9. James D S

    James D S Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. DeepakJR

    DeepakJR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    James, just use a cat 5 cable from the bridge to the router/switch and connect additional cat 5 cables from the router/switch to connect your consoles. Unless they are in different floors and/or rooms then I would say go with two bridges. A $20 100 ft cable sounds more attarctive then a $100 router, id rather deal with one cable on the floor rather than spending $100 on a bridge.

    L8rz,
    Deepak Jr.
     

Share This Page