Wireless Netowork - Does this sound right?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Adam Sanchez, Jan 29, 2003.

1. Adam Sanchez

Adam Sanchez Supporting Actor

I'm planning on doing something but I want to make sure it will work since I have no experience with this particular setup. I have 3 computers at home all networked and sharing a net connection using Windows XP. Cable modem goes into one computer via a NIC card and then out another NIC card on the same PC to a small hub and from there the 3 other computers plug in.

One of the 3 computers is a laptop which I want to make wireless. I need to buy tHe wireless PC card of course and then I figure a wireless access point. If I plug in the access point to the hub, will it work and send the signal to and from my laptop? I suppose my theory is right. I just want to make sure before I shell out the money. Just don't have any experiece with a wireless network.

Thanks

2. Mathew Shelby

Mathew Shelby Second Unit

It sounds like your logic is correct. I would check Staples they have been having some good rebate deals on wireless cards lately.

3. Kevin P

Kevin P Screenwriter

My setup is similar, and I simply plugged a Linksys WAP11 into my hub to add wireless to my network. Works great, less filling. [​IMG]

Just make sure to change the SSID and enable WEP encryption so your network is reasonably secure.

KJP

4. Brian Ruth

Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

Adam: I'd look into the LinkSys Wi-Fi Wireless Router plus a LinkSys Wireless Card for your laptop. It's the setup I use, and I couldn't be happier with it. In fact, I'm hooked up wirelessly to the net at this very moment. [​IMG]

If you're looking for more speed (for something like real-time video streaming to your laptop), the Linksys 54g Wireless Router plus the 54g Laptop Card should fit your needs nicely too. They cost a bit extra, but there's a nice bump in speed that helps if you're streaming compressed video from one computer to another.