WinXP Internet Connection Settings.. I need HELP!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brett DiMichele, Mar 24, 2002.

  1. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay I consider myself to be fairly knowledgeable when it

    comes to OS's and Computers in general. But I have to admit

    this one has me confused and stumped.

    I want Seti to auto dial my connection (which it does) and

    then I want the connection to terminate it's self after 5

    minutes (which it is set to do, but it isn't) and I don't

    want IE or Outlook to autodial and they both are..

    I have looked through every setting I can, and it is set

    correctly yet none of the settings seem to work.

    Any idea?
     
  2. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Nate Public

    Nate Public Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Brett,

    First of all, what version of IE are you running? If you have anything 5 and recent (XP default), you should be able to control IE and Outlook express by going to Internet Explorer...

    "Tools" >

    "Internet Options" >

    and then clicking the "Connections" tab >

    In this menu, there are all of the dialing preferences for IE. You can change how it dials (probably, in your case, you need to turn off autodial).

    Internet Connection wizard is often a big waste of time. I would avoid it at all cost.

    I use a LAN connection, so I can't speak for SETI. Please answer me this, and I might be able to help with that as well: "Does SETI have it's own options for dialup? What about hanging up? OR are you using settings in control panel?"

    Hope I can help,

    Peace,

    Nate
     
  4. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nate,

    I am running Windows XP Home Ver 5.1.2600 Build 2600

    Windows Internet Explorer 6.0.2600

    Seti has prefrences for connection automaticly but no preferance

    for auto disconnection.

    I am not running cable or DSL I am running a 56K Dialup

    and I have my dialup settings as follows.

    Display Progress While Connecting (checked)

    Redial if line is dropped (Checked)

    Redail attempts = 50

    Time between redial attempts = 30 seconds

    Idle time before hanging up = 5 minutes

    Those are the settings for my actual connection.

    In IE I have it set to "never dial a connection" yet it

    does anyway..

    I can't figgure it out.. The things it is doing, it should

    not be..
     
  5. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this program will work (XP and all that), but I've used it to automate a variety of tasks.
    http://www.iolo.com/macromagic/default1.cfm
    its kind of like running batch programs and you might find that it has other useful capabilities.
    good luck
     
  6. Nate Public

    Nate Public Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Brett,

    Well, you got me there. Microsoft has a fabulous reputation for ignoring their own system settings. I do remember Outlook having a feature to hang up after checking mail. However, IE should not be dialing a connection if you have that option set.

    I wonder if there isn't a dial up networking setting that I have forgotten about...maybe something along the lines of automatically dial when request for internet connection?

    I will try to think about this some more, but you might take a look on deja.com's newsgroups. I have found some answers on XP under their alt.....os.xp group.

    Peace,

    Nate
     
  7. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nate,

    Thanks for giving this some thought. I am also brain storming

    thinking that somewhere there is a setting to auto connect

    to the net. But I'll be damned if I can recall seeing such

    a setting.

    You would think all the settings would be under the network

    connections, as I can't fathom where else MS would stick

    such settings.

    I appreciate your help!
     

Share This Page