Windows XP doesn't see my RAID array

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JasenP, Sep 11, 2002.

  1. JasenP

    JasenP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Real Name:
    Jasen
    I recently installed the Soyo Dragon Ultra with the Highpoint RAID adapter and Windows is not seeing the RAID array.

    The OS is on IDE 1 and the HD's for the RAID are on IDE 3 & 4. I configured and created a RAID-0 array using the supplied Higyhpoint configuration software after installing the newest drivers and the RAID controller shows up in my hardware list and is working, but still no love from XP.

    Is there something I need to do in Windows to make it show?

    I am using the newest Soyo BIOS and RAID has been enabled. I can't think of anything else to do.
     
  2. Wayne Bundrick

    Wayne Bundrick Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The array is created but has it been partitioned and formatted?
     
  3. JasenP

    JasenP Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Real Name:
    Jasen
    Yes it's true, I am a moron.

    Wayne, thanks for the response. I figured it out last night. I am a RAID novice and I thought the array WAS the format since it warned me that all the data would be deleted. I formatted using Windows disk manager and it works great now.
     

Share This Page