Windows Virtual Memory Low....

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by MikeH1, Oct 29, 2002.

  1. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    When playing Battlefield 1942, which I understand from reading many forums on the game, is that it likes to eat up ram. But this doesn't concern me so much (I have 256 and know I should upgrade to 512 - I bring this up cause I don't know if theres a coralation between ram and virtual memory). When I exit the game and use Seeing Eye to find another server the windows bubble with the statement "Virtual memory low" comes on with a brief desciption of what its going to do to rectify the problem. But I don't think it gets solved because it always pops up. Anyway, should I be concerned? Is there any changes I can make so this doesn't appear? The game, for the most part, does run smoothly. Just curious what this is about.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. James Zubb

    James Zubb Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 1999
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    This just means that at that time there is a low amount of virtual memory. It is not a permanent problem, this condition will change as you open and close programs.

    Some possible causes: You may have set your virtual memory size too small. You may be running out of disk space on the drive with your swap file. It is possible that you are going into eye too soon after exiting the game so that all the memory allocated isn't freed yet, so windows thinks that there is not enough memory when there will be in a second or so once the rest of the memory is freed.

    Unless it starts to bog down after going in and out of the game a few times there probably isn't a real problem.

    I just got this game last week and am hooked bigtime. Tons of fun.
     
  3. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys for the responses. I'm using xp and knew I should have went with the 512 instead of 256 but I always planned on upgrading the fact in the future anyway (it would have cost me more to have it pre-installed than buying from a b&m store when I felt it was necessary). I know now that upgrading to 512 is a definate must and will be doing so asap, probably around christmas.

    Thanks again.
     
  7. Matt Weyen

    Matt Weyen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you want to change virtual ram for the time being (before upgrading), go to control panel, then performance and maintenance, then system, then advanced, then choose performance settings, then choose advanced and at the bottom of the window will be virtual memory and it gives you a button to choose to change the virtual memory and which hard drive you define it on. Don't go below 150, windows won't like you otherwise. I suggest around 300 or more. Also, remember to hit 'set' when you're done changing the size or it won't go into effect.
     
  8. Masood Ali

    Masood Ali Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page