Windows 98 SE IRQ problem

Ray R

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jun 28, 2000
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My video adapter and modem are sharing IRQ 11. I found out that the "IRQ table has errors". How do I fix this problem if it truely is a problem. IRQ 11 also has "holder for PCI steering".
------------------
HT pictures
 

Paul Hawkins

Auditioning
Joined
Oct 4, 1997
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Is your modem a PCI card or ISA card?
if it's a PCI card there shouldn't be much of a problem.
You could remove both through your system device manager. Let the computer reboot and it will find them again. It may or may not re-assign IRQs.
If your modem is an ISA card you could define an IRQ in your CMOS to be used by legacy (meaning ISA) devices only. This way the PCI cards will not use that IRQ.
-Paul
 

Matt DeVillier

Supporting Actor
Joined
Sep 3, 1999
Messages
773
Reaction score
0
Points
0
PCI IRQ's are assigned based on which PCI slot a card is in. Sometimes this is configurable via the bios, and others you just have to move around cards until you have no more conflicts. Each PCI IRQ will have one 'Holder for IRQ Steering" associated with it, that is normal
------------------
My DVD collection
 

Roy C.

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 20, 1999
Messages
356
Reaction score
0
Points
0
You might want to check your BIOS to ensure that there are no IRQ's reserved for ISA devices, so you don't run out. There is another option in most BIOS' that seems to work well which is Plug-N-Play OS, enable/disable. Also, it is very rare that the modem grabs a higher IRQ than 10 which makes me think that you should be able to go to Device Manager and change it there manually to maybe 5 or 7. You can try disabling one of your COM ports, if not in use, and try to use IRQ 3 (should be COM2). Of course, this is assuming that both the modem and the video card are PCI and that the modem will allow you some changes. Most WinModems do not.
Good luck,
Roy
------------------
 

JasenP

Screenwriter
Joined
Dec 21, 1999
Messages
1,280
Reaction score
0
Points
110
Location
Kalamazoo, MI
Real Name
Jasen
RE: BIOS
I just went through two weeks of hell to get my ATI All-IN-Wonder 128 PCI to work on my Compaq Presario. My final solution was to flash the BIOS with software from the motherboard manufacturer, eliminating the crippled BIOS that Compaq uses. After that I was able to go into the BIOS settings and enable the automatic IRQ settings and now everything works GREAT!
Disclaimer: What I did is considered "dumb" by many people and has a certain amount of risks. I was at the end of my rope when I did it, it was truly an act of desperation on my part.
------------------
"Strange women lyin' in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a system of government!"

300+ Reasons why I drive A 1991 Cavalier.
 

Rob Gillespie

Producer
Joined
Aug 17, 1998
Messages
3,632
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Jasen, you have to remember that Compaq don't sell PC components - they sell full working machines primarily aimed for corporate desktop solutions. You're not *supposed* to go messing with the bios because Compaq provides you with a working machine - how dare you!

Compaq make some nice gear, but their desktops really are not a good starting point for someone wanting to upgrade and tinker.
------------------

"One does not simply walk into Mordor."
Rob's Place
 

Roy C.

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 20, 1999
Messages
356
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I second that motion!!!!! Compaq PC's are really meant for the person that wants to just work with them. They are not meant for upgrading because of limited slots (PCI, AGP, RAM). Also, they tend to be on the smallish side. About the BIOS I wouldn't sweat it. If anything Compaq is the best with those ROMPaq's!
Good luck,
Roy
------------------
 

Mike Voigt

Supporting Actor
Joined
Sep 30, 1997
Messages
799
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I third that... way back in the days of 486 I had a Compaq - the 486/33.
Wanted to replace the modem with a high speed one (56K).
That was one painful event. I could not get the system to run without the old modem (even after lots of downloads from Compaq's website), nor could I get it to recognize the second modem with the first installed.
On top of that, Compaq's design was one with a riser card holding the slots for any additional cards. And it wasn't worth beans.
That system caused me to build my first PC. I still have that first system; the Compaq went by the wayside.
Since then, I've looked inside a number of Compaqs, and almost always withdraw with a shudder...
Mike
 

JasenP

Screenwriter
Joined
Dec 21, 1999
Messages
1,280
Reaction score
0
Points
110
Location
Kalamazoo, MI
Real Name
Jasen

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,735
Messages
4,688,469
Members
141,024
Latest member
degroof