1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Windows 8, Usability disaster

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Sam Posten, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,825
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Does Windows 8 have the same update hell as Windows 7 and XP?

    I'm reinstalling Win7 Home (in Parallels on my Mac) and I'm yet again gobsmacked by the (literally) hundreds of updates that require hours and hours of downloading and installing and multiple reboots. Granted, I probably reinstall windows more often than the normal person, since it goes on and off of my Macs as needed. But, wow, installation is like an endurance marathon.
     
  2. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Rocket Science Department
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    5,387
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
    If it wasn't necessary for my work, I would uninstall Win7 from my MBP and be done with Windows forever.
     
  3. Dave Upton

    Dave Upton Audiophile
    Owner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Real Name:
    Dave Upton
    That's why you have to download "new" installation media that incorporates the updates. That's what most of us Windows folks do.
     
  4. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,825
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Can you give me a link? I'm familiar with the process for OS X, and finally made a USB key installer for Mavericks. But when I do Windows, I fall back to my original DVD, which requires a day and a half of updates.
     
  5. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,748
    Likes Received:
    4,531
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    To answer your question, yes. If you get a new machine with 8 on it it can literally take you a whole day to patch 8, update to 8.1 then get the 8.1 update.
     
  6. Edwin-S

    Edwin-S Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,869
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Wow. Yeah. I found that out the hard way when I updated my sister's new laptop. What's worse is after it was done, hardly anything looked that different from the previous version, except that they added a power icon and a settings? icon to the start page. Of course they couldn't bother to put those icons on the traditional desktop. They put them on the screen that would normally show on a tablet. Most changes look like they took place under the hood. I wasn't all that impressed.

    Good thing I brought it home and did it. That thing was almost a gig with the update and security patches. They would have been into the next tier of the cellular data plan if they had done it themselves.
     
    Sam Posten likes this.
  7. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    6,165
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    The BK
    Real Name:
    ManW
  8. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,748
    Likes Received:
    4,531
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
  9. Adam Gregorich

    Owner

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 1999
    Messages:
    16,120
    Likes Received:
    965
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    The Other Washington
    Real Name:
    Adam
    I hated Win 8 when it came out. I'm used to it know and have no issues. All my old Start Menu programs I used are on the Taskbar :)
     

Share This Page