Windows 2000 Login password help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Patrick_S, Sep 27, 2002.

  1. Patrick_S

    Patrick_S Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    102
    Ok I screwed up my W2K Pro install somehow and I'm looking for some advice.
    I was tinkering in the Networking properties and I must have changed my laptop's Domain. This is a stand-alone notebook that isn't on a network and now when I try to Login to start W2K I get the following message:
    The system could not log you on. Make sure your user name and domain are correct, then type your password again. (The usual information about the password being case sensitive.)
    I know that I'm using the correct user name and password but there is no place to check if I'm using the correct domain. I find that odd because I remember once being able to type the domain but now there is no line to even see the domain.
    I have the boot disks and the W2K Pro CD so I could always reformat and start from scratch but I would like to keep that as a last resort since I know the build is ok it was just my error that has created this problem.
    Is there any way to boot to a command prompt and hack away the login file so that next time I boot it will complete the boot process without a login?
    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. Scott "E"

    Scott "E" Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    There should be an options tab on the log on screen that will expand the window to allow you to specify a domain or the local machine.
     
  3. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    also, check your caps-lock.
     
  4. Jeff Lehr

    Jeff Lehr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    ....and make sure your NUM LOCK key is off, too.
     
  5. Patrick_S

    Patrick_S Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    102
    I appreciate the responses but I have already made certain that the Cap and Num locks are off and the Options button does not give me the option to enter a domain.

    What I was really interest in knowing is if it is possible to edit or delete the file that contains the Login information so when W2k started it would either bypass the login screen or ask me to enter new information.
     
  6. Jesse Leonard

    Jesse Leonard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. Josh Lowe

    Josh Lowe Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    you couldn't have joined a domain if your laptop is not on a network. to join a domain requires connectivity to a domain controller.

    if the logon box has no field for a domain name then you are still standalone, aka on a workgroup. changing workgroup names has no effect on local account names and passwords.

    If you are locked out of the machine and it's not part of a domain, you're pretty much screwed. best solution is to get another hard drive and do a re-install. then put in your current hard drive as a slave and get all your data off of it.

    or, if you have a recent backup, just wipe it out and start over.
     

Share This Page