Windows 10 News and User discussion

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Sam Posten, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. Dennis Nicholls

    Dennis Nicholls Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1998
    Messages:
    9,174
    Likes Received:
    408
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Real Name:
    Dennis
    Well the new "Creators" edition of Win 10 (version 1703) installed itself on my machine last evening. It blew off all my saved passwords. It also rendered the scanner functions on my Canon multifunction machine inoperative. Apparently you need to re-install the Canon patch from last October every time Windows undergoes a "major" upgrade. I had the patch saved so I just re-installed it and restarted Win 10. Scanner works again.

    See https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/copiers-mfps-fax-machines/support-multifunction-copiers/imageclass/imageclass-d1120?tab=drivers&downloads for the patch for my machine.
     
  2. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    I don't know whether anyone else has experienced this, but after my latest Windows 10 update, some of the power settings were changed on my Laptop. This occurred on my left over Control Panel from Windows 8/8.1. This might be something to watch out for.

    CHEERS! :)
     
  3. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    19,124
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Aside from the nuisance of Windows randomly rebooting to install these updates, I've had no problems so far, thankfully..
     
  4. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Casual Enthusiast
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    4,537
    Likes Received:
    468
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
    I get random crashes when shutting down, but I think that's because I'm running Windows 10 Pro on my 2012 MacBook Pro and there's an incompatibility somewhere. Doesn't bother me much because I only use it once or twice a month.
     
  5. 745 Aug 23, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2017
    Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    OK, my latest issue has me baffled!

    At the moment, I cannot connect to the internet on any of the browsers on my PC Laptop. And yet, everything on my PC indicates full connection to our Wi-Fi. I even hooked it up by Ethernet to the Wi-Fi modem, and my Windows 10 settings confirm proper connection. Still no dice! I am able to access NetFlix on our Apple TV, and of course, I'm awkwardly typing this on my Wi-Fi connected Android!

    Any helpful input would be greatly appreciated!

    CHEERS! :)

    EDIT: OK, a complete restart (As opposed to my initial shut down, then power on again method, which usually works!) fixed the above issue! Still, I've never encountered this before, at least to my recollection! Everything did look copacetic on the surface, whereas any other time, there would be something along the lines of the Laptop not being connected to our Wi-Fi network, or else the internet itself would be down, neither of which applied in this case. Weird! :blink:
     
  6. Stan

    Stan Producer

    Joined:
    May 18, 1999
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    I occasionally lose my WI-FI connection for no reason. Took a while to figure out the "user friendly" way to get into things and re-connect it. Win10 is way down on the list of favorite OSs. Came pre-installed on a new laptop, so not much choice, but not happy with it, even a year later.

    As you stated, a complete power-down, re-start fixes a lot, but really? It's 2017, shouldn't this kind of crap have been fixed by now?
     
  7. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    Or at the very least, there should always be some indicator whenever a connection is failing, somewhere!

    I've also noticed that whenever there are Windows 10 updates waiting in the queue, all functions seem to slow down to a crawl. In fact, on multiple occasions, this has served as a cue for me to check for updates, which proves to be the case most of the time - Very annoying!

    CHEERS! :)
     
  8. Gary Seven

    Gary Seven Grand Poo Pah

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida
    Real Name:
    Gaston
    What do you guys have on your computers that gives you all such problems? I have different flavors of Win 10 running on four computers (and one on the Apple) and never a problem. Any computer you buy with OS pre-installed I recommend wiping and re-installing yourself without the additional crap that typically gets put on by manufacturers.
     
  9. Stan

    Stan Producer

    Joined:
    May 18, 1999
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Not a chance. The headaches I've already been through, can't imagine how much worse it would be to start again. And this is coming from an IT nerd with 25 years of experience. No DVD/CD to install from, so I'd have to purchase it, followed by probably a few hundred hours of patches, service packs, upgrades... Sometimes you just give up. :D
     
    Tony Bensley likes this.
  10. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    That was also suggested to me, as I hadn't perform a clean install over Windows 8.1 when I upgraded to Windows 10 two years ago, and I was having some issues with certain programs at the time. Short of total OS failure, it ain't gonna happen! I believe going the route that I did allowed for some of the Windows 8 options that I actually liked, to remain on my garden variety Windows 10 OS!

    CHEERS! :)
     
    Stan likes this.
  11. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    19,124
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    What Windows 8 features remain in place as "bonus" by doing an in-place upgrade instead of a clean upgrade?
     
  12. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    The Windows 8 based Control Panel, for one. I have access to both that and the Windows 10 based Windows Settings Menu.
     
  13. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    19,124
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Huh. Interesting. :)
     
  14. Dennis Nicholls

    Dennis Nicholls Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1998
    Messages:
    9,174
    Likes Received:
    408
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Real Name:
    Dennis
    I upgraded from Win7 to Win10. This preserved the very nice backup and restore utilities built into Win7 that are lacking in Win10. Win10 wants you to back up to the "cloud" so that Microsoft can examine your data. The Win7 lets you do an image backup to a separate hard drive or to a series of DVD-R.
     
  15. BobO'Link

    BobO'Link Producer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,286
    Likes Received:
    2,379
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    Mid-South
    Real Name:
    Howie
    Get the media yourself:
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10ISO

    Or use the "Media Creation Tool" to get what you need:

    https://www.microsoft.com/software-download/windows10

    The Control Panel is still available in WIndows 10. They took it off the Right Click Start Menu with the "Creators Update" but you can still easily bring it up by going to settings and searching for "Control Panel." It'll be the only result.

    It's incredibly annoying that they hide it but still rely on it for a significant number of settings. They need to decide on one or the other and put everything in one location. Frankly, I'd prefer the Control Panel but if they'd put everything in "Settings" I'd be OK with it. That the OS is still far from polished and logical (OK... it's MS and nothing is going to be "logical") this far in is astounding.
    IIRC Windows 10 still allows backups to HD or disc (I don't use it and we don't allow it on the domain - put your "stuff" on flash drive or the server. If your system craps out we just reimage it). It may be more difficult if you log in using a MS account. The best way to use Win10 is to *not* use a MS account but use a local only account as you've done with every MS OS. They make it more difficult to do this and try to imply you must have a MS account but it's not necessary and fairly easy to break that cloud connection.
     
    Stan and DaveF like this.
  16. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    19,124
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    I use Macrium Reflect Free.
    https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

    I still don't understand Windows backup options. (Mac is so much simpler to me for backups.) But macrium is manageable, robust and free. Acronis reviews very well too, but I've not used it.
     
  17. Mike Frezon

    Mike Frezon Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    43,484
    Likes Received:
    8,543
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Rensselaer, NY
    My Windows 10 experience has been fine.

    But I had a forced Update last night (well, I guess any update is forced) and today got a popup screen saying I got a "Windows Creator" update and giving me all sorts of options to learn more about 3-D functionality, Microsoft Edge stuff, etc.

    That's bullshit.

    I want non-intrusive updates to provide patches, etc. And if there are going to be major software upgrades, they should be optional.

    I'm not even using Edge.
     
  18. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    19,124
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Win10 is automatic updates. You can set preferred download times. But after 25 years of being the security nightmare, in part because owners don't install updates, they're trying to fix it by having patches and updates be automatic.
     
  19. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Casual Enthusiast
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    4,537
    Likes Received:
    468
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
    Too bad that is an utterly terrible way to go about things.
     
  20. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    Awhile back, I read that Microsoft Paint, among other programs, might be a casualty of the Creators update. Now, that is bullshit I can live without!:angry:
     

Share This Page