Win XP and Microphone???

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Dan M~, Aug 21, 2003.

  1. Dan M~

    Dan M~ Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just loaded Windows XP on my Pentium machine with a built in sound card (Asus P4S533 w/ C-Media CMI-8738 Chip) and now my microphone does not work (it did when running Win 98).

    I've tried another mic, but no luck. It is plugged into the mic jack, not the line or speakers.

    When I go to Control Panel - Sound and Audio Devices - Voice Tab :
    The "Test Hardware" hears no sound for mic setup.
    Under Voice Recording the Default Device is C-Media Wave Device but the Advanced button is greyed out (unable to pick).
    The mic is selected under the Volume button - recording control and volume maxed out.

    Help, what am I missing?

    I need the mic for Yahoo Messenger.
     
  2. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may need to download the latest drivers for your hardware. Check the manufacturers page and see if that helps.
     
  3. Dan M~

    Dan M~ Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kyle, Thanks for the input.

    I went to the ASUS Drivers Site and downloaded the latest Audio drivers for Win XP (cm288b_xp.zip). When I open the zip file there is not an "install" executable. How do I get the 12 enclosed files onto my computer? There are .dll's, .cat's, .inf's, .dat's and a "CMUninstl.exe" and a "Mixer.exe".

    There are other driver .zip packages (for video, etc.) I would like to load too. They seem to not have .exe's either.

    Help!
     
  4. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to go to control panel, system, the hardware tab, pick your device, go to the driver tab, and reinstall driver, if memory serves me correctly.
     
  5. Dan M~

    Dan M~ Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi James,

    Will that process grab all 12 files and install them in the proper location(s)?
     
  6. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check too to see if your mic boost is on. It can be way to quiet unless its checked off.
     
  7. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The important one to pick out is your main audio device, I'm not familiar with that things onboard sound but you should be able to pick it out. If you can't figure it out post everything that shows up under the audio controller section.
     
  8. Dan M~

    Dan M~ Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the help...

    I have the latest drivers already loaded. When I direct the device manager to the new drivers I get a message about already having the latest installed.

    Michael Hein - Thanks, I did turn the boost on before, but now I can't find where that check box "hides".

    The mic is still not working, any new ideas?

    Thanks, Dan
     
  9. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok try this Dan to find the mic boost. Although I don't think its your current issue you may need to turn it on once you get it working, so here's how.

    start--->control panel--->sounds and audio devices...in the DEVICE VOLUME area click on advanced. The master volume control should come up, you get the volume of many different controls like Master, Wave, Synth, CD Player, Line In, Microphone ....click on advanced in microphone and it should now come up.

    I wish I could help you better, I know how frustrating setting up a mic can be especially since its usually something simple overlooked. Your onboard sound too might be the problem, sometimes these can be very troublesome with certain audio applications.

    Oh yeah, does your mic take a battery by chance? Mine does, one single AA that you would never know about unless you took it apart.
     

Share This Page