What's new

Will my new Magneplanar/Magnepan 1Bs sound any good with my set up/room limitations? (1 Viewer)

Johnny G

Supporting Actor
Hi Guys, I'm a newbie to this section (usually just visiting the software section) as I'm no audiophile but have decided to splash out on some decent front speakers for my budget Home Theater.

Firstly, I don't have a dedicated HT/music room so it means fitting them in a living room and secondly the rest of my system is quite mediocre so I'm unsure I can drive them and obviously had the problem associated with the phrase crap in, crap out!

Here's my other components:-
Panasonic DVD A110 (DVD Player)
Yamaha DSP A5 (Dolby Digital & DTS Integrated Amplifier)
Acoustic Research CS25HO (Center Speaker)
Mordaunt Short MS35Ti (used as Rear Speakers)
Wharfedale Active Subwoofer
EXTREMELY cheap interconnects & 79 strand speaker cable

It's mainly the Amp & connections that I'm concerned about because my question relates mainly to playing music with my amp set to stereo & my sub off and if music sounds good, I should have nothing to worry about for HT. I have the option of using a friend's stereo power amp from the "higher end" of the Technics range to feed from my stereo outs on my Yamaha.

Having heard a beautiful Magneplanar HT system on holiday in Florida a few years ago, I decided to snap these up when I saw them on ebay and should get them delivered this coming weekend.

My concerns are firstly, being in a lounge, I'm having to place them with their 14" bases back to the wall, making the speaker itself about 9" from the wall which I know isn't good. And Secondly, trying to drive these huge 4 ohm speakers with an integrated amp, is the lost potential enough to make the speakers sound relatively poor?