What's new

Will JBL NSP1 work with my room acoustics? (1 Viewer)

Alexander-G

Agent
I’m a newbie trying to put together my first home theater system. I got a DVD player as wedding gift and it is frustrating not to have yet taken advantage of its sound capability.

I already own a Pioneer _ DV 626-D DVD Player and have just ordered the following HT package based on strong reviews in this forum:

JBL NSP1
That budget Sony sub (can’t recall the name)
H/K AVR 320

My question is whether this setup will work with my Manhattan apt. My HT space is would be quite small (about 12x9 ft.) except that the room is L -Shaped so that when you are watching TV, there is no left wall but instead a larger 20x12 space. In the same direction moreover, that space opens onto an additional a 7 x 12 foyer. So essentially its like I having a 28x18 room that has an internal wall in one part of it, creating a 12x9 alcove that is open on the left.

(I know this confusing. I tried drawing a floor plan, but it would lose its proportions when I tried to post).

I am wondering what the acoustic consequence of this size may be and, specifically, whether my budget package will fill the space or be degraded by the open left side.

Finally, any thoughts on whether my DVD player is any good? – it’s from two years ago and I haven’t seen any reviews on this site.

Thanks in advance for any help!

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
While it is a large area to fill, the 320 should have no problems power wise. With proper calibration, they should be able to sustain decent listening levels for movies. There will be interactions from the open side, but I have a similar setting and it works fine. Placement of the speakers will make all the difference.

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
Reviews of your DVD
I think you'll be very happy with the setup.