What's new

Will Fox ever listen???? (1 Viewer)

Time to get on my soapbox again. Will Fox ever listen to their classic mystery fans and release the Charlie Chan series and the Mr. Moto series starring Peter Lorre??

They should take notes from MGM here in America(despite Fox's bogus statement, MGM MADE MONEY on the Chan set they released!) AND really take notes from a little public domain company Orbit Ltd in the UK. It seems Orbit has found a rights loophole to release the Fox Charlie Chan movies in the UK, CC in London came out a few months ago and apparently sold well enough to warrant CC in Paris arriving in November. HELLO FOX????? Why oh why would you let a small company in the UK release YOUR movies that YOU spent a lot of money restoring??? Just doesn't make sense. NOT only are they selling your movies, they are releasing Inferior prints and STILL making money. This subject just irritates me to no end. I am a CPA, so I do understand costs and profits, seems like a no brainer to me. Peter Staddon, can you hear me??????????

george kaplan

Senior HTF Member
If it's still not out by next year, you should go on the HTF meet, and you'll be able to press your case to Peter in person. :)

Robert,

I was basing my MGM statement on 2 things:
1. Sales rankings on Amazon, Deepdiscountdvd and one other site which escapes me for the moment. And
2. While I cannot quote the individual due to privacy issues, a person who is well respected and heavily involved in the movie industry (specifically classic movies) indicated to me that sources at MGM were very pleased and if not somewhat shocked by the sales of the dvd set.

So, no not privy to actual numbers, but I would take what this person said as the next best thing. And I think it is very valid considering these films are bootleged and have sold like gangbusters and still do on good ole Ebay!(which as we can all admit is a very widely used "shopping" service nowadays!)