What's new

Will an RCA home theater be good enough for me? (1 Viewer)

Justin Ward

Supporting Actor
I am a student in grade 11 and I have an RCA DVD player and a 25" tv in my room. I currently have a JVC 120 watt mini system. I want to get into surround sound and my room is setup well enough for a smaller system. At wal-mart i saw an RCA home theater with 350 watts power and Dolby Digital 5.1 compatibility for $388(Canadian). I know this will not match the sound quality of a custom selected reciever/speaker setup from brands like Technics, Marantz, JBL aet.. but will it provide good quality sound for a relatively small room. I don't think the power is an issue because my 120 watt mini-system fills the room with sound very well and i rarely turn it up past 1/2 volume.
Also, If i got this system could I use my 60 watt mini-system speakers instead of the 50 watt satellites that come with the unit. I would want to do this because it should result in more bass since the 60 watt speakers have 6.5 inch woofers while the 50 watts only have mid drivers. Or would this result in the sound not being balanced?
Thanks for any advice.

Hey Justin:
I think it would be just fine for a bedroom HT. One thing to check on though, is if the sub is powered or not. Some of the less expensive HTiBs come with a passive subs. Other than that, I am sure it would be fine.

BTW, I have a Sony HTiB with 4 small satellite speakers, a small center speaker and a small powered sub and it sounds fine in my living room. Just remember, as with everything, you get what you pay for.

Hope this helps,

Andy

P.S. You should be able to use your older speakers with the new setup. I would just try them both and see which sounds better to you.

Edit: One other thing. Does you DVD player have the processor in it? If not your new reciever would have to in order to get the 5.1 track.

Robert Mayrand

Stunt Coordinator
Hi Justin,