Will an HK DPR2005 handle 4ohm load???

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Dean_S, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. Dean_S

    Dean_S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a DPR2005 and I'm considering some Dynaudio speakers to replace the NHT's I have now (I'm really just relocating the NHTs to another room). I know the analog HK recvrs I've owned in the past had no problems running a 4ohm load but I'm just not sure on the digital amps??? I'd rather not sacrifice a new DPR testing this but could always move the DPR to the other and get something different for the main room.
     
  2. James Phung

    James Phung Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember seeing reports about the 2005 having problems powering 4 ohm speakers. However, I think there might've been a firmware upgrade that fixed this problem. I would try contacting harman about it (they have a live online customer support chat).
     
  3. Dean_S

    Dean_S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks James. I did contact HK and their response was that the 2005 is will handle a 4 ohm load. Now I just need to win the auction for the speakers I want (bidding ends late tonight).
     

Share This Page