Will a Quadscan Elite Work with my XBR?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric_Rob, Dec 30, 2001.

  1. Eric_Rob

    Eric_Rob Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sony XBR-400 HD ready TV. The TV has three inputs 480i,480p and 1080i.

    I have a Iscan Pro right now and I am getting 480p with all my digital cable channels and DVD's, but I would like to upscale to 1080i. I am looking at the Quadscan Elite, but I am not sure it will work with my TV?

    The NR on my TV would be 1080i. The Quadscan would de-interlace 480i to 480p then upscale, but would in re-interlace the video to 1080i?

    This would be my first post, If anyone knows, I really need your help on this.
     
  2. Ron Hanson

    Ron Hanson Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. The quadscan puts out progressive resolutions. Not interlaced.

    It would take a 480i image and scale it to the various progressive resolutions it offers. Unless you tv can handle anything more than 480p the iscan is a better deinterlacer.
     
  3. Eric_Rob

    Eric_Rob Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have heard that RON. But, I have been told that you can feed 540p into a 1080i input and the TV will see 540p as 1080i and upscale to 1080i?

    Now, I am not sure if this is true, and even if it is, I am not sure it would be true HD? I was thinking I could buy a Quadscan Elite or Pro and feed 540p into the 1080i input, and see what happens. But, I think it would be better to try that out frist.

    Does anyone know about what I am talking about with 540p to 1080i upscale?
     
  4. Ron Hanson

    Ron Hanson Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Eric_Rob

    Eric_Rob Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would be true Ron. I am also looking at a Crystal Image 2.0 or 4.0, I heard they output 540p. But, I would need to make sure it had a P Pb Pr input, I think you can get one with those inputs if you ask for them.

    Ron, Do you know anything about this 540p to 1080i upscaling? I mean, have to tryed it before?
     
  6. Ron Hanson

    Ron Hanson Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I have not looked into it.

    You may want to look at a HTPC instead.
     

Share This Page