Will a new receiver be worth it?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by SteveNi, Jan 18, 2004.

1. SteveNi

SteveNi Auditioning

Hi everyone, I am new to the forum even though I have been trolling around here for a few months now. This seems like a great place to get advice so thanks in advance.

I now have the following setup:

Pioneer VSX 811S
    Polk RM6600
    Polk PSW350

99% of the time this is used for HT only.

I believe the 811 was a good buy for the money but I was expecting more power out of it. I used to have an old Pioneer from the early 90s and the 811 does not even come close to the power of my old one.

Would a better receiver like the Pioneer Elite VSX-55Txi be worth the money with my current speakers?
    What can I expect if I upgrade the receiver?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thanks

2. Dennis Gardner

Dennis Gardner Stunt Coordinator

Steve,

The 55TXi is a great piece, but the 6600s may not let it shine through in all its glory. Your current setup is probably matched well for what they were meant to do, but jumping to a topshelf receiver may show how small your Polk sats are.

I think that you have run into what alot of us here have experienced in the last decade of multi-channel growth. Small speakers with subs took hold of a market that you and I remember from 2 channel days of monitors with 12 inch woofers being the bomb and changed what we here from our receivers amp section. The 6600s are great at giving you surround sound with very little intrusion into your room and fit the scenario much the same as Bose did with their little cubes and the sub can be hidden if needed also. They looked great and sounded good with Dolby Pro Logic and its narrowed frequencies. Full range Digital surround begs for a little larger speaker. Even Polk phased out the 3 inch mids and put 5 & 6 inchers in the newer satellites.