1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Will a new DVD solve my problem? Please help.

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Michael Steven, Oct 22, 2003.

1. Michael Steven

Michael Steven Auditioning

To everyone:

Hello. I am new to this forum, and discovered it on a different home video forum. I have an issue that I've posted elsewhere and hope that many of you here can help me as well.

While not new to electronics (I've been into audio equipment all my life), I am new to home video and am learning more everyday. I'm hoping someone can help me with my dilemma.

For ten years, I watched movies on a 20-inch Zenith TV, first using a JVC VCR and then a Toshiba DVD player. I recently upgraded to a 27-inch Panasonic flat screen TV. I was considering moving all the way up to HD but will probably wait because 1) I don't have the space right now for a TV much larger than 27 inches; 2) I might move in a year or so and don't want to lug around an HD TV; and 3) I want to wait until prices drop.

When playing DVDs on the flat-screen TV, the picture is generally sharp with good color. I was using my old Toshiba SD-2800 with Monster component cables. However, I noticed not only some artifacts and difficulty with 16:9 films, but the scan lines are really visible. I sit roughly about 6-7 feet from the TV (I was once told that ideal distance is roughly 5 times the height of the screen). I thought I would try a different DVD player, so I went out and picked up a Sony DVP-NS325 -- cheap and low-end, but I only have an analog TV. Still, a generally decent (but not great) picture and visible scan lines. I messed with the settings on the TV and in both DVD players but wasn't entirely satisfied with the picture.

Here are my questions: