What's new
  • Announcing New Ownership at Home Theater Forum. Learn More

Wifi to LAN conundrum... (1 Viewer)

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
17,104
Location
Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
Real Name
Sam
Long story short...At the 2nd house I only have VZW via an LG G3 and a Pad 8.3.Issue is...the Netgear WNCE2001/3001(have one of each) refuse to play nice(or the devices refuse to play nice back...)I need LAN for several devices. Went to Best Buy to actually look into another VZW line for a USB. VZW charges an additional $20/month(charge more for those...than they do tablets...)Guy at BB said I should get...Either a wifi extender(specifically the Linksys AC 1200...of which they had 1 of the 2 versions*) that has onboard LAN.Or the other option, a router that can run off existing wifi. Which he said Netgear makes theirs that do so. I already have the WNDR4500 at the other house, so...I could try to set that up, before buying another(just to see if it really does that. Doesn't say, anywhere, that it can).Thoughts?Other people in the same boat?*Speaking of which...if that will work, besides cosmetic, anybody know the difference between them?
 

DaveF

Moderator
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
27,275
Location
Catfisch Cinema
Real Name
Dave
You don't have internet from a cable co; you're using a Verizon wireless wifi modem? Or are you using your ipad or Android phone to provide wifi to the house?And you want to want a wifi router to extend the wifi through the house?
 

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
17,104
Location
Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
Real Name
Sam
I can't get DSL or cable at the 2nd house. Not spending $150/month for Wild Blue/HughesNet. I don't have Directv there either. Use the mobile app via the G3 or Pad via slimport(works via the laptop as well).Using the LG G3 and Pad 8.3 as hot spots.Need hot spot to LAN.The G3 and Pad want a connection before you can access the password(hence why the WNCE2001/3001 don't work).
 

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
17,104
Location
Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
Real Name
Sam
Oh yeah...This WNCE2001/3001 non-connection to a hotspot is not a new problem. I first had a Sprint MiFi(looked like a silver stack of credit cards) that they would not connect to. Bought the Cradlepoint CTR(CDR??)350 and tethered it. Both WNCE connected to the router. Since I changed to the G3 and Pad I thought one of them would tether to the Cradlepoint. They don't. So far, none of the currently available mobile wifi routers is compatible with any phone or tablet...by anybody(tried the Cradlepoint with various Blackberry, Samsung, Motorola phones of yore).The only thing phones and tablets will tether to(USB or Bluetooth) are computers.
 

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
17,104
Location
Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
Real Name
Sam
ScottHM said:
I don't know the cost, but these are nice:https://cradlepoint.com/products/routing-and-failover---------------
Problem is...Those only work with "internet only" devices(USB stick or hot spot).I can already get a hotspot from VZW for $1. Then $20/month.Sadly, I can't transfer the line from the Pad 8.3 to another device for 14 months...without a hefty fee. That is part of the "gotcha" from "buy the G3...get a Pad 8.3"...Although, selling the Pad(that's the trick...selling it) to cover the fee is an option...except...I like it. It is great having a device, that isn't your phone, that you can show things to your clients on. And...if it didn't have its own internet..."pardon the internet interruption while I take this call..."
 

DaveF

Moderator
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
27,275
Location
Catfisch Cinema
Real Name
Dave
I don't think you can do what you want to do. I've done a little bit of googling on "personal hotspot wifi bridge" and I don't find any apparent solutions short of jailbreaking an iPhone (from a 2012 discussion).

The root problem seems to be that wifi adapters don't support however Personal Hotspot works, in terms of passwords.

This is outside my meager knowledge on home networking. There's the hotspot device from Verizon you mentioned, at $20 / mo?
 

Dave Upton

Audiophile
Moderator
Reviewer
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
4,403
Location
Houston, TX
Real Name
Dave Upton
Sam,
If you want something that really works, the best option is a cradlepoint as recommended above , the MBR95 is a great solution. I know you want to use your existing device, but it sadly doesn't work that well. A rooted android device can be used via USB tethering with openWRT for example:

http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/usb.tethering
 

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
17,104
Location
Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
Real Name
Sam
Finally got everything "settled"...of sorts...

Can't have VZW HomeFusion. As it only does 4G. Not the 3G/4G the VZW store talking head thought it did...

Anyway...

New Pantech UML295.

Or course "new thumbs with super 4G" don't work with my Cradlepoint CTR500.

Cradlepoint MBR95 on its way...
 

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
17,104
Location
Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
Real Name
Sam
Good news...

MBR95 showed up. Works great. Throws a much stronger signal than the CTR(CDR)500 ever did. The 95 is 10x the size though. So not as portable. But, the 95 isn't meant to be traveled with. So, moot point.

As far as signal goes. 2 bars of 4G registering on the Pantech(and confirmed on the 95 display). I can still log into the VZW app and check the status of it, even through the 95 wifi. Couldn't do that with the 500. Maybe all routers do that now??

Second day I had to restart the router as the Pantech was "off". Since restarted, something has always been connected(NeoTV, laptop or tablet) and hasn't been back off yet. Since I did no "setup" beyond plugging it in, it probably has settings to never turn off the Pantech(the 500 had such settings).

Regarding signal...

This house is a single floor 1 bedroom, with a converted attic for a 2nd bedroom(has a dog house with off side deck) with v ceilings. Tempted to get one of the many Pantech antenna and mount it outside. But, the 3 movies I've streamed(one while we had whiteout snow) went along in HD with no buffering after the initial buffer. Which using the phone or tablet in a non optimal spot was less than a minute. The 95 in a better, yet still not optimal(not played around for optimal) spot was 20 seconds or less.

Chromecast is no longer buggy.
 

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
17,104
Location
Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
Real Name
Sam
Got a funny, and loomingly expensive, one for y'all...

Anyway...

I pay for 40g of VZW. Bought a Roku3.

My GF was watching a movie and went and downloaded more "channels".

Anyway, she found one that had trailers for various movies. I had left for work...

She accidentally left a trailer on constant loop...and it played for 11 hours..........

Had already used 37 of the 40g...and 12 more days till the new month...
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
352,604
Messages
4,990,931
Members
143,294
Latest member
MJL
Recent bookmarks
0
Top