What's new

Widescreen = Terrible TV? (1 Viewer)

I am just beginning to enter the HT market. I was at a friends house the other night and asked to watch his Sony HDTV. I watched the TV for a few minutes and eventually asked why the image looked absolutely God-awful terrible. I was told that it was because we were watching a widescreen TV.

In order to avoid having a "burn-in" affect from watching TV all the time (since only the middle of the screen would be used, with black bars on the sides) they had set the TV to, I dunno, MORPH the image to fit the whole screen. It looked like something out of one of those mirrors in an amusement park.

So anyway, my question is this. Those of you who have widescreen HDTV's, is it worth it?

Should I instead be looking into purchasing an HDTV that is NOT widescreen?

Are there any Widescreen HDTV's that don't suffer from this "burn-in" problem?

Well, any info on this would be very welcome. I want a widescreen TV for movies and HD but not if I have to give up broadcast TV!

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
All plasma and CRT TV sets are vulnerable to the burn in problem. If you keep teh contrast under a half for direct view and under a third for RPTV and FPTV you should not have problems with burn in.
If you do not buy a wide screen TV, you will have the same burn in problem with the black bars on top and bottom of a 4:3 TV.
Video hints:
http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm

Jeff D.

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Jeff
Matthew:

To display a 4:3 image correctly on a 16:9 set, the 4:3 image is placed in the middle of the screen, with black (or gray) bars flanking the sides. This is the only way to preserve the OAR on a widescreen set.

Now, HDTV is (by definition) 16:9, so no worries when you're watching HD. Also, the majority of movies on DVD (current movies, at least) are also widescreen, once again negating any worries about having to watch 4:3 material.