1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Widescreen T.V question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Keith_R, Sep 4, 2001.

1. Keith_R

Keith_R Screenwriter

Kyle
    I'm still kinda new to HT and by posting this I don't mean to start a fight but I do have a serious question so please don't flame me [​IMG] I was at Bestbuy over the weekend and I saw some of the widescreen 16:9 tv sets. I have yet to upgrade to a 16:9 set and for now I am still using a 27' 4:3 set. Anyways, what do we gain by converting the shape of a T.V to a widescreen rectangular shape? sure it works great for DVD movies but what makes it that much better for normal T.V? in short, DVDs aside, what makes normal T.V watching on a 16:9 set that much better, why it necessary we start moving away from 4:3 sets? thanks.
    -Keith-

2. Matt Heebner

Matt Heebner Stunt Coordinator

Well, supposedly with the advent of full-time high def programming, not only are the broadcasts gonna be HD, but also OAR for movies, and 16:9 for regular TV.....and lets not forget dolby digital for sound as well. HD programming is pretty much just starting out so there isn't alot of it, and some of it isn't even 16:9 ratio.
    Hopefully it will eventually happen, and 16:9 sets might eventually become the "norm", even small sets like a 13" widescreen for example. But, as I said eventually...if ever.
    There are quite a few major hurdles before this will happen though.
    Matt
    ------------------
    ....Eat, Drink, and Be Merry, For Tomorrow We Die....--DMB

3. JohnHN

JohnHN Stunt Coordinator