Why would anyone want to tune a sub so high???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Sebastian, Oct 2, 2002.

1. Sebastian

Sebastian Second Unit

I have the HTD LII sub and I ran the volume of the box and the port sizes through LspCad and the box tuning frequency came out to be 48Hz (50Hz in WinISD)with stuffing at 0% and the driver and amp were not taken consideration, just inputted the 44L as the volume.

Actual specs:
    10" driver
    Internal volume: 44L without amp, driver and ports
    Ports: 2 ports 6"(15.24cm)length 2.75"(6.985cm)diameter, flared on both ends.
    There is some stuffing in the box.

The sub is rated down to 30Hz +/-3dB, is this even possible with a sub tuned at 48/50 Hz?

Doesn't a sub freq response drastically fall off after the enclosure tuning frequency?

Can someone explain why would HTD or anyone else would tune a sub so high?

2. Jeff Meininger

Jeff Meininger Second Unit

My HTD level 1 sub is also rated to 30 Hz. I'm no expert, but I _seriously_ doubt I get down to 30 hz. I don't think the HTD subs are rated 100% correctly. Don't get me wrong, I think HTD is a great company. Excellent customer service, and the price/performance of their main speakers is GREAT. I'm extremely pleased with the performance of my level one mains considering the price I paid. Heck yeah I'll upgrade one day, but for a budget setup they really sound nice.

There's also the idea of the sub using EQ to get lower. Below tuning, you're fighting a losing battle against cone excursion, though. Perhaps under a certain SPL level you can get to 30 Hz -3db, but above that SPL level there might be an excursion limiter? I don't know what kind of circuitry that would involve, but it might be possible.

C'mon UPS man... bring me my Shiva!

3. Sebastian

Sebastian Second Unit

Actually when talking with one of the HTD reps he indicated to me that all their speakers are rated at +/-3dB.